Ferndale Michigan Online Driver Education and Ferndale Michigan Licensing Procedures
So you've taken your first step towards becoming a new driver in Ferndale Michigan? Congratulations!
As you probably already know, driving is a valuable skill, but can also be extremely dangerous. Therefore, to help new teen drivers develop safe driving habits during their first few years behind the wheel, the State of Ferndale Michigan has implemented a graduated driver license program for Ferndale Michigan drivers who are under the age of 18.
We’ve summarized a few things you’ll need to know as you begin the process of becoming a licensed driver in Ferndale Michigan.
Ferndale Michigan Instruction Permit (aka--Learner's Permit)
To apply for an instruction permit in Ferndale Michigan, you need to meet the following prerequisites:
- You must be at least 14 years and 9 months old
- Complete a state-approved drivers education course which includes 24 hours of classroom time, 6 hours of behind-the-wheel instruction time, and 4 hours of observation time
Head down to your local driver's license office (Ferndale Michigan Sec. of State Branch Office) and bring the following items:
- Your drivers education completion certificate
- Valid ID forms (for a list of acceptable ID documents, please visit the Ferndale Michigan Sec. of State's website)
- Bring your parents/guardians (they'll need to fill out some paperwork)
After you receive your instruction permit (or a Level 1 Learner's License), you may begin to practice driving so long as there is a licensed driver at least 21 years of age sitting next to you in the front passenger seat who is actively supervising your driving.
Ferndale Michigan Intermediate License
To become eligible for a Level 2 Intermediate License, you will need to complete the following requirements:
- Have held your Level 1 instruction permit in good standing for at least 3 months
- Complete 6 hours of classroom instruction
- 2 hours instruction per day (maximum)
- Completed 50 total hours of supervised driving (keep a log)
- No traffic violations (if you have one, you'll have to wait an additional 90 days before applying)
When this requirements have been met, take your drivers ed certificate along with your Level 2 Intermediate License application (which must be signed by your parents/guardians) to your local Ferndale Michigan Secretary of State branch office. You will be given a road test, and if you pass, you will be issued a Level 2 Intermediate Drivers License.
With a Level 2 Intermediate Drivers License, some restrictions will still apply:
- No driving between 12 midnight and 5am unless your parent/guardian is with you (exception is if you're driving to and from work)
After you've had your Ferndale Michigan Level 2 Intermediate License for 12 months, and kept a clean driving record, you can apply for your unrestricted Level 3 Driver's License!
Ferndale Michigan Auto Insurance & Financial Responsibility Laws
State law requires that you have at least a certain amount of auto insurance/liability coverage on any vehicle you drive. The minimum amount of liability coverage required in Ferndale Michigan is as follows:
- $20,000--personal injury (1 person)
- $40,000--personal injury (2 or more persons)
- $10,000--property damage
Driving without auto insurance coverage is a crime. If you are found to be driving while uninsured, you risk losing your license and paying a hefty fine.
Ferndale Michigan Drunk Driving Laws
Driving under the influence of alcohol is strictly forbidden in Ferndale Michigan--and strictly enforced. Upon your FIRST Ferndale Michigan DUI conviction, you will face the following penalties:
- 93 days in Jail
- A fine ranging from $100 to $500
- $1,000 driver responsibility fee
- 6-month suspension of your license
- 6 points on your driving record
- 360 hours of community service
- Ignition Interlock Device being installed on your vehicle
Further DUI violations will result in even more severe penalties including extended jail time, fines, and the revocation of your driver's license.
Ferndale Michigan Cell Phone & Text-Messaging Laws
There are currently no statewide laws in Ferndale Michigan which prohibit drivers from using cell phones or text-messaging device while driving (but that does not mean it's safe to do it). However, if you drive in Detroit, you may only use a hands-free device.
Ferndale Michigan Drivers Education
Teen-aged drivers are required to take a state-approved driver education program. You can find a list of approved programs on the Ferndale Michigan Department of State website.