We have everything you need to earn your
Our online driver education courses are fun, interactive, and convenient. Upon completion
of our permit course, you can begin driving with an instructor.
Other course features:
As you probably already know, driving is a valuable skill to know but it can also be extremely dangerous. Therefore, to help new teen drivers develop safe driving habits during their first few years behind the wheel, the State of Alabama has implemented a graduated driver license program for Alabama drivers who are between the ages of 15-18.We’ve summarized a few things you’ll need to know as you go begin your process of becoming a licensed driver in Alabama.
After you turn 15, you are eligible to apply for an Alabama restricted learner’s license. When you go to the drivers license office to apply and take the written test, you’ll need to take the following paperwork/documents with you:
The written test will be based on material covered in the Alabama’s drivers manual. Once you pass this test, you will be issued a Class D drivers license with a "Y" restriction. The "Y" restriction means that you may only drive when accompanied by a licensed Alabama driver who is at least 21 years old who’s seated in the front passenger seat. If you still have a learners’ license after you turn 16, you may drive with any licensed driver occupying the seat beside the driver.
Your Alabama learner’s license is valid for four (4) years any may only be renewed once.
If you are 16 years of age (but still under 18), and have had your learner’s license for at least six (6) months, you are eligible to take the road test needed to get your graduated driver’s license (information about the road test can be found in the Alabama driver’s manual).
When you go to take your road test, you must bring your learner’s license with you to the driver’s license office along with a DPS-issued verification form signed by your parents saying that you have completed at least 30 hours of behind-the-wheel driving practice.
Upon passing the road test, you will be issued a new regular license with the "Y" restriction removed.
If you are 16 years old when you receive your graduated driver’s license, you must still have a licensed, 21-year-old supervising driver sitting in the front passenger seat if you drive between the hours of 12 midnight and 6am. This restriction stays in effect until you turn 17 years, 6 months.
Also, when you receive your graduated driver’s license, you may only have three (3) passengers in the car with you (not including your parent/legal guardian).
As a new Alabama driver, it's important for you to learn the Alabama drunk driving laws. This state has no tolerance for driving under the influence of alcohol. Upon your 1st conviction of an Alabama DUI, you will face:
Bottom line is this: if you’ve been drinking, let someone else drive—PERIOD.
Currently, there are no Alabama laws that prohibit driving while texting or talking on cell phones. That does not mean it’s safe to use them while driving! For your safety and for those around you, please wait until you have parked your car before sending or reading a text message or talking on your cell phone. Your friends can wait a few minutes before hearing back from you.
Any vehicle you drive in Alabama must be covered by auto insurance, either in your name or the vehicle’s owner’s name (i.e.—if you drive your parents’ car, they need to have insurance coverage on the car and you must also be covered under their insurance plan).
Minimum coverage in Alabama is as follows:
Any 16-year-old applicants who would like to apply for an Alabama driver license must have either completed at least 30 driving hours (signed by a parent, legal guardian, or certified driving instructor) or an SDE-approved Alabama online driver education course. So you’ve taken your first step to become a new driver in Alabama?Congratulations!
You’re free to go to the Alabama licensing office and take the test for the Alabama learners permit as soon as you receive your Alabama CyberEdDriverEd.com driver education certificate of completion. Depending on where you live, you may be required to provide additional documentation, such as parental consent forms, medical records, your birth certificate, etc.
We strongly recommend that you contact your local Alabama driver's license office to find out exactly what paperwork is needed when you go in to take your Alabama learner's permit test.