We have everything you need to earn your
Our online driver education courses are fun, interactive, and convenient. Upon completion
of our permit course, you can begin driving with an instructor.
Other course features:
Please note that the State of New Mexico does NOT approve or accept online driver education so you must attend a physical driver education classroom.
As you probably already know, driving is a valuable skill, but can also be extremely dangerous. Therefore, to help new teen drivers develop safe driving habits during their first few years behind the wheel, the State of New Mexico has implemented a graduated driver license program for New Mexico drivers who are between the ages of 15-18.
We’ve summarized a few things you’ll need to know as you begin the process of becoming a licensed driver in New Mexico.
You can apply for your instruction permit at age 15 provided you have enrolled in a state-approved drivers education course. Please note that the State of New Mexico does NOT approve or accept online driver education so you must attend a physical driver education classroom.
When you go down to the local drivers license office, please take the following items with you:
You will be given a vision screening exam, and then a written test which written test will include material from the New Mexico driver handbook. You may opt out of the written test if you provide a certificate of completion from a state-approved drivers education course which includes a 3-hour DWI component.
With an instruction permit, the following restrictions apply:
Warning--if you drive with blood-alcohol content of .02 or higher, your instruction permit will be revoked for 6 months.
After you've had your instruction permit for 6 months, you can apply for your New Mexico provisional license if you meet the following prerequisites:
When you're ready, head back down to the local driver's license office with the same ID documents you took last time and be sure to bring your instruction permit, also. The fee is $18. You will need to pass a road test before you can be issued a provisional license (unless you already took a road test as part of your state-approved drivers education course).
With a provisional license, there are still some restrictions you will need to follow:
After you've had your provisional license for 12 months and kept a clean driving record, you can go back to the driver's license office and apply for your full driver's license. The fee ranges between $18 and $34.
The State of New Mexico requires that you maintain a certain amount of liability coverage on any vehicle you drive. The minimum required coverage is as follows:
Driving while uninsured is a crime! If you drive without the required insurance coverage, you will face having your license suspended, plus a hefty fine.
Drinking while under the influence of alcohol is strictly prohibited in New Mexico, and the law is strictly enforced.
Upon your FIRST New Mexico DUI conviction, you will face the following penalties:
Further DUI convictions will result in even more severe penalties, including extended jail time, community service, and the revocation of your driver's license.
Although there is no statewide law regulating cell phone use while driving, the cities of Albuquerque and Santa Fe do not allow them to be used while driving. Albuquerque allows cell phone only with a hands-free device, but Santa Fe does not allow cell phone use at all.
For more information on drivers education including a list of approved drivers ed courses in New Mexico, please visit the New Mexico MVD website.