We have everything you need to earn your
Our online driver education courses are fun, interactive, and convenient. Upon completion
of our permit course, you can begin driving with an instructor.
Other course features:
So you've taken your first step towards becoming a new driver in Pennsylvania (PA)? Congratulations!
As you probably already know, driving is a valuable skill, but can also be extremely dangerous. Therefore, to help new teen drivers develop safe driving habits during their first few years behind the wheel, the State of Pennsylvania has implemented a graduated driver license program for Pennsylvania drivers who are under the age of 18.
We’ve summarized a few things you’ll need to know as you begin the process of becoming a licensed driver in Pennsylvania.
You can apply for your instruction permit after your 16th birthday. When you are ready, go down to your local DVS office with the following paperwork:
At the DVS office, you will be given a vision screening test, and then the written (knowledge) test based on material covered in the PA Driver's Manual. If you pass the written test, you will be issued an instruction permit.
An instruction permit carries the following restrictions:
You can apply for your junior license if you meet the following requirements:
When you're ready to upgrade to a junior license, make an appointment with the local DVS office to schedule your road test. If you pass the road test, you will be issued a PA Junior Driver's License.
Even with a junior driver's license, some restrictions still apply:
Violation of the restriction(s) pertaining to your instruction permit and/or junior license may result in your permit or license being suspended for 90 days.
After you've had your junior license for 1 year and incurred no traffic violations or at-fault accidents during this time period, you may apply for a regular, unrestricted driver's license.
State law requires that you have at least a certain amount of auto insurance/liability coverage on any vehicle you drive. The minimum amount of liability coverage required in Pennsylvania is as follows:
Driving without the required amount of auto insurance is a crime. If you are found to be driving while uninsured, you risk losing your license and paying a hefty fine.
Drinking while under the influence of alcohol is strictly prohibited in Pennsylvania, and the law is strictly enforced.
Upon your FIRST Pennsylvania DUI conviction, you will face the following penalties:
Further DUI convictions will result in even more severe penalties, including extended jail time, fines, community service, and the revocation of your driver's license.
There are currently no statewide laws prohibiting the use of cell phones while driving. However the cites of Conshohocken, Hilltown Township, and Lebanon do not allow teen-aged drivers to use cell phones (except "hands-free" ones) while they are driving.
Teen-aged drivers in PA need to complete a state-approved drivers education course. You can find a list of approved drivers ed courses by visiting the PA DVS website.
In most states, you must be at least 15 1/2 to take drivers ed for your learners permit. You should check with your state's Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) (or whichever state agency handles the issuance of drivers licenses in Pennsylvania) to make sure that you are eligible to take Pennsylvania driver education.
Please be aware that although CyberEdDriverEd.com is sufficient for fulfilling driver education requirements in some states, in other states CyberEdDriverEd.com is only offered as a supplement to the driver education and/or training you will receive at a state-approved driving school. To find out if CyberEdDriverEd.com will meet your state's minimum driver education requirements, we recommend that you check with the Pennsylvania Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV).