We have everything you need to earn your
Our online driver education courses are fun, interactive, and convenient. Upon completion
of our permit course, you can begin driving with an instructor.
Other course features:
So you've taken your first step towards becoming a new driver in Rhode Island? Congratulations!
As you probably already know, driving is a valuable skill, but can also be extremely dangerous. Therefore, to help new teen drivers develop safe driving habits during their first few years behind the wheel, the State of Rhode Island has implemented a graduated driver license program for Rhode Island drivers who are under the age of 18.
We’ve summarized a few things you’ll need to know as you begin the process of becoming a licensed driver in Rhode Island.
You may apply for a learner's permit after you turn 16 provided you have completed a 33-hour state-approved drivers education course.
When you're ready to head down to the local DMV office, remember to take the following paperwork with you:
You will first be given a vision screening test, and then a written exam. If you pass, you'll be issued a learners permit to drive, which is valid for 1 year.
Learners Permit Restrictions:
You may apply for a junior license once you meet the following requirements:
When you're ready to upgrade to a junior license, call your local DMV office to schedule your road test. Take the following items with you to your appointment:
If you pass the road test, you will be issued a junior license. However, some restrictions still apply:
After you've had your junior permit for 1 year, you may apply for a full, unrestricted driver's license (provided you have maintained a clean driving record!)
State law requires that you have at least a certain amount of auto insurance/liability coverage on any vehicle you drive. The minimum amount of liability coverage required in Rhode Island is as follows:
Driving without the required amount of auto insurance is a crime. If you are found to be driving while uninsured, you risk losing your license and paying a hefty fine.
Drinking while under the influence of alcohol is strictly prohibited in Rhode Island, and the law is strictly enforced.
Upon your FIRST Rhode Island DUI conviction, you will face the following penalties:
Further DUI convictions will result in even more severe penalties, including extended jail time, fines, community service, and the revocation of your driver's license.
Rhode Island law currently prohibits teen-aged drivers from using cell phones while they are driving (this includes both hand-held and "hands-free" cell phones).
Don't even think of text-messaging while you are driving! State law prohibits the reading, composing, and sending of text-messages while driving, regardless of how old the driver is.
Teen-aged drivers in Rhode Island are required to complete a state-approved drivers education course. You can find a list of approved drivers ed courses on the Rhode Island DMV website.
Rhode Island teen drivers are required to take a Rhode Island approved driver education course. You can find more information about approved Rhode Island online driver education on the Rhode Island DMV website.
The Rhode Island online driver ed course offered by CyberEdDriverEd.com is about 30 hours long. However, in some states where timers are not required you may not have to spend an entire 30 hours taking the course.
Please be aware that while in some states CyberEdDriverEd.com is sufficient for fulfilling your state's driver education requirements, in other states CyberEdDriverEd.com is offered as a supplement to the actual driver education and/or training you will receive at a state-approved driving school. To find out if CyberEdDriverEd.com will meet your state's minimum driver education requirements, please contact your local DMV office.