We have everything you need to earn your
Our online driver education courses are fun, interactive, and convenient. Upon completion
of our permit course, you can begin driving with an instructor.
Other course features:
So you've taken your first step towards becoming a new driver in Michigan? Congratulations!
As you probably already know, driving is a valuable skill, but can also be extremely dangerous. Therefore, to help new teen drivers develop safe driving habits during their first few years behind the wheel, the State of Michigan has implemented a graduated driver license program for Iowa drivers who are under the age of 18.
We’ve summarized a few things you’ll need to know as you begin the process of becoming a licensed driver in Michigan.
To apply for an instruction permit in Michigan, you need to meet the following prerequisites:
Head down to your local driver's license office (Michigan Sec. of State Branch Office) and bring the following items:
After you receive your instruction permit (or a Level 1 Learner's License), you may begin to practice driving so long as there is a licensed driver at least 21 years of age sitting next to you in the front passenger seat who is actively supervising your driving.
To become eligible for a Level 2 Intermediate License, you will need to complete the following requirements:
When this requirements have been met, take your drivers ed certificate along with your Level 2 Intermediate License application (which must be signed by your parents/guardians) to your local Michigan Secretary of State branch office. You will be given a road test, and if you pass, you will be issued a Level 2 Intermediate Drivers License.
With a Level 2 Intermediate Drivers License, some restrictions will still apply:
After you've had your Michigan Level 2 Intermediate License for 12 months, and kept a clean driving record, you can apply for your unrestricted Level 3 Driver's License!
State law requires that you have at least a certain amount of auto insurance/liability coverage on any vehicle you drive. The minimum amount of liability coverage required in Michigan is as follows:
Driving without auto insurance coverage is a crime. If you are found to be driving while uninsured, you risk losing your license and paying a hefty fine.
Driving under the influence of alcohol is strictly forbidden in Michigan--and strictly enforced. Upon your FIRST Michigan DUI conviction, you will face the following penalties:
Further DUI violations will result in even more severe penalties including extended jail time, fines, and the revocation of your driver's license.
There are currently no statewide laws in Michigan which prohibit drivers from using cell phones or text-messaging device while driving (but that does not mean it's safe to do it). However, if you drive in Detroit, you may only use a hands-free device.
Teen-aged drivers are required to take a state-approved driver education program. You can find a list of approved programs on the Michigan Department of State website.