We have everything you need to earn your
Our online driver education courses are fun, interactive, and convenient. Upon completion
of our permit course, you can begin driving with an instructor.
Other course features:
So you've taken your first step towards becoming a new driver in Maine? Congratulations!
As you probably already know, driving is a valuable skill, but can also be extremely dangerous. Therefore, to help new teen drivers develop safe driving habits during their first few years behind the wheel, the State of Maine has implemented a graduated driver license program for Iowa drivers who are under the age of 18.
We’ve summarized a few things you’ll need to know as you begin the process of becoming a licensed driver in Maine.
You need to be at least 15 years old and have completed a state-approved drivers education course before applying for an instruction permit in Maine. When you're ready to get your instruction permit, make an appointment with your local Maine BMV office and take the following items with your to your appointment:
You will need to first pass a vision screening test, and then a written (knowledge) test. If you're successful, you will be issued an instruction permit, which is valid for 18 months.
With an instruction permit, you may begin to practice driving, but there are some restriction(s):
To be eligible to apply for a Maine intermediate license, you must meet the following prerequisites:
When you're ready to upgrade to an intermediate license, head back down to your local Maine BMV office and bring your instruction permit along with the other documents you took the last time you went.
You will need to pass a road test to get your intermediate license. After you receive your intermediate license, there are still some restrictions which you must follow:
After 180 days, if you've kept a clean driving record, your intermediate license will convert to a full Maine driver's license.
State law requires that you have at least a certain amount of auto insurance/liability coverage on any vehicle you drive. The minimum amount of liability coverage required in Maine is as follows:
Driving without auto insurance coverage is a crime. If you are found to be driving while uninsured, you risk losing your license and paying a hefty fine.
First off, please know that Maine has a Zero Tolerance Law for drunk driving. If you are under 21 and you caught driving with an alcohol content level of just .02, you will face stiff fines plus suspension of your driver's license, even though the regular DUI level in Maine is .08.
If you drive under the influence of alcohol in Maine--assuming you're not first killed in an accident--you will suffer severe consequences. Upon your FIRST conviction of a Maine DUI, this is what you will face:
Further DUI violations will result in even more severe penalties including extended time in jail, fines, and the revocation of your Maine driver's license.
Maine currently prohibits teen-agers who hold an instruction permit or intermediate license from using a cell phone or any other wireless communication device while they are driving.
For a list of approved drivers education courses offered in Maine, please visit the Maine BMV website.
In most states, you must be at least 15 1/2 to take drivers ed for your learners permit. You should check with your state's Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) (or whichever state agency handles the issuance of drivers licenses in Maine), Maine Department of Education, or Maine Department of Driver License Services to make sure that you are eligible to take Maine driver education.
Please be aware that although CyberEdDriverEd.com is sufficient for fulfilling driver education requirements in some states, in other states CyberEdDriverEd.com is only offered as a supplement to the driver education and/or training you will receive at a state-approved driving school. To find out if CyberEdDriverEd.com will meet your state's minimum driver education requirements, we recommend that you check with the Maine Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV).
The Maine online driver ed course offered by CyberEdDriverEd.com is about 30 hours long. However, in some states where timers are not required you may not have to spend an entire 30 hours taking the course.
Please be aware that while in some states CyberEdDriverEd.com is sufficient for fulfilling your state's driver education requirements, in other states CyberEdDriverEd.com is offered as a supplement to the actual driver education and/or training you will receive at a state-approved driving school. To find out if CyberEdDriverEd.com will meet your state's minimum driver education requirements, please contact your local DMV office.