We have everything you need to earn your
Our online driver education courses are fun, interactive, and convenient. Upon completion
of our permit course, you can begin driving with an instructor.
Other course features:
So you've taken your first step towards becoming a new driver in Louisiana? Congratulations!
As you probably already know, driving is a valuable skill, but can also be extremely dangerous. Therefore, to help new teen drivers develop safe driving habits during their first few years behind the wheel, the State of Louisiana has implemented a graduated driver license program for Iowa drivers who are under the age of 18.
We’ve summarized a few things you’ll need to know as you begin the process of becoming a licensed driver in Louisiana.
When you turn 15, you can apply for a Class E Louisiana Instruction Permit. Make an appointment at your local Office of Motor Vehicles (OMV) and take the following paperwork/documents with you:
At the OMV office, you will be given a vision test, and then two (2) written tests on road signs and road rules. You will need to pass both written tests to get your instruction permit.
Once you have your instruction permit, you may begin to practice driving under the following restrictions:
After you've had your instruction permit for 180 days, you'll be able to apply for an intermediate driver's license (provided you've kept your driving record clean!).
When you go back down to the local OMV office, remember to take the following items with you:
Be sure that your vehicle inspection sticker, license plates, and registration are all up-to-date before you go to take your road test.
If you pass the road test, you will be issued a Louisiana intermediate driver's license.
An intermediate driver's license still carries the following restriction(s):
After 180 days, if you've kept a clean driving record with your intermediate driver's license, you will be eligible to apply for a full, unrestricted Louisiana driver's license.
Louisiana law requires that you maintain a certain amount of auto insurance/liability coverage on any vehicle you drive. The minimum coverage is as follows:
Driving without auto insurance is a crime. If you are caught driving without the required amount of liability coverage, you will face having your license suspended plus a hefty fine.
Drinking and driving has taken countless of innocent lives over the past several decades, and Louisiana has no tolerance for driving while under the influence of alcohol.
Upon your FIRST Louisiana DUI conviction, be prepared to face the following penalties:
Further DUI violations will result in even more severe penalties, including long prison terms and the revocation of your Louisiana driver's license.
Current law in Louisiana prohibits teen-aged drivers who hold an instruction permit from using cell phones (except hands-free devices) and text-messaging devices while driving. The fine is $175 for the first offense and $500 for subsequent offenses.
For a list of approved drivers education courses in Louisiana, please visit the Louisiana OMV website.
In most states, you must be at least 15 1/2 to take drivers ed for your learners permit. You should check with your state's Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) (or whichever state agency handles the issuance of drivers licenses in Louisiana) to make sure that you are eligible to take Louisiana driver education.
Please be aware that although CyberEdDriverEd.com is sufficient for fulfilling driver education requirements in some states, in other states CyberEdDriverEd.com is only offered as a supplement to the driver education and/or training you will receive at a state-approved driving school. To find out if CyberEdDriverEd.com will meet your state's minimum driver education requirements, we recommend that you check with the Louisiana Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV).