We have everything you need to earn your
Our online driver education courses are fun, interactive, and convenient. Upon completion
of our permit course, you can begin driving with an instructor.
Other course features:
So you've taken your first step towards becoming a new driver in New Jersey? Congratulations!
As you probably already know, driving is a valuable skill, but can also be extremely dangerous. Therefore, to help new teen drivers develop safe driving habits during their first few years behind the wheel, the State of New Jersey has implemented a graduated driver license program for New Jersey drivers who are under the age of 18.
We’ve summarized a few things you’ll need to know as you begin the process of becoming a licensed driver in New Jersey.
When you turn 16, you may apply for an instruction permit provided you are enrolled in a state-approved drivers education course.
When you're ready to get your permit, head down to the local MVC office and bring the following materials:
At the local MVC office, you will first be given a vision screening exam and then a written (knowledge) test, based on material covered in the MVC Driver Manual.
With an instruction permit, the following restrictions apply:
When you turn 17, you may apply for your provisional license so long as you've had a clean driving record with your instruction permit.
Go back down to the local MVC office with your instructional permit plus the same ID documents you took the last time. You'll need to take a road test this time, and if you pass, you will be issued a provisional driver's license.
With a provisional license, some restrictions still apply:
When you turn 18, you may go back to the local MVC office and receive your full, unrestricted license.
The State of New Jersey requires that you maintain a certain amount of liability coverage on any vehicle you drive. The minimum required coverage is as follows:
Driving while uninsured is a crime! If you drive without the required insurance coverage, you will face having your license suspended, plus a hefty fine.
Drinking while under the influence of alcohol is strictly prohibited in New Jersey, and the law is strictly enforced.
Upon your FIRST New Jersey DUI conviction, you will face the following penalties:
New Jersey law currently prohibits teen-aged drivers from using cell phones (except hands-free ones) or any other electronic devices while they are driving.
Currently, New Jersey teen drivers are prohibited from using cell phones while driving unless you have a hands-free device. The fine is $100-$200.
New Jersey teen drivers can find more information on approved New Jersey online driver education courses on the New Jersey MVC website.
Please be aware that while in some states CyberEdDriverEd.com will be sufficient for fulfilling your state's driver education requirements, in other states CyberEdDriverEd.com is offered only as a supplement to the actual driver education and/or training you will receive at a state-approved driving school. To find out if CyberEdDriverEd.com will meet your state's minimum driver education requirements, please contact your local DMV/DVS office.