We have everything you need to earn your
Our online driver education courses are fun, interactive, and convenient. Upon completion
of our permit course, you can begin driving with an instructor.
Other course features:
So you've taken your first step towards becoming a new driver in Indiana? Congratulations!
As you probably already know, driving is a valuable skill, but can also be extremely dangerous. Therefore, to help new teen drivers develop safe driving habits during their first few years behind the wheel, the State of Indiana has implemented a graduated driver license program for Iowa drivers who are under the age of 18.
We’ve summarized a few things you’ll need to know as you begin the process of becoming a licensed driver in Indiana.
You will be eligible to apply for an Indiana instruction permit when you are 15 years and 6 months old, provided you are enrolled in a state-approved drivers education program.
When you're ready to get your instruction permit, you will need to take the following items to the driver's license office with you:
You will be given two (2) tests: a vision test and a written (knowledge) test. If you pass both of these, you will be issued an Indiana instruction permit.
Once you have your instruction permit, you may begin to practice driving you must be accompanied by a certified driving instructor or a member of your family who has a driver's license and is at least 21 years old to supervise your driving.
After you have had your instruction license for one (1) year, and kept a clean driving record, you will be able to apply for an intermediate license.
Prerequisites for an intermediate license:
When you go down to the BMV office, be sure to take the required ID forms you took when you went to get your instruction permit along with a signed agreement of financial liability (see the Indiana BMV website for details).
You will need to pass vision, written, and--yes--a road test to get your provisional license.
Once you have your provisionsal license, there are still a few restrictions which you'll have to follow until you turn 18:
Exceptions include if you are driving to or from a school-sponsored, civil, or church-sponsored activity.
After you turn 18, these restrictions are removed and you will be free to drive--carefully--24 hours a day.
Indiana law requires that you carry a certain amount of auto insurance/liability coverage on any vehicle you drive. Driving without auto insurance is a crime. If you drive without insurance, you are looking at having your license suspended plus a hefty fine.
Driving under the influence of alcohol will get you in more trouble than you can imagine. Upon your FIRST conviction of an Indian DUI, you will face the following penalties:
Further DUI violations will result in more severe penalties, including extended jail time and the revocation of your driver license.
If you are under 18, you may not use any electronic communication device while driving (yes, that absolutely includes texting!)
For information regarding state-approved drivers education courses in Indiana, please visit the Indiana BMV website.