We have everything you need to earn your
Our online driver education courses are fun, interactive, and convenient. Upon completion
of our permit course, you can begin driving with an instructor.
Other course features:
So you've taken your first step towards becoming a new driver in Idaho? Congratulations!
As you probably already know, driving is a valuable skill, but can also be extremely dangerous. Therefore, to help new teen drivers develop safe driving habits during their first few years behind the wheel, the State of Idaho has implemented a graduated driver license program for Iowa drivers who are under the age of 18.
We’ve summarized a few things you’ll need to know as you go begin your process of becoming a licensed driver in Idaho.
To apply for a supervised instruction permit in Idaho, you must be at least 15 years old and have completed or be currently enrolled in a state-approved drivers education course.
When you make your trip down to the driver's license office to get your supervised instruction permit, you will need to take the following items with you:
After you receive your supervised instruction permit, you may begin driving under certain restriction(s):
After you've had your learner's permit for at least six (6) months, you will be eligible to apply for an Idaho provisional driver's license.
To get your Idaho provisional license, you will first need to pass both a written test and a road test. When you feel you're ready to go for it, you will need to take your supervised instructional permit plus the same required ID forms you took when you went to get your supervised instructional permit.
After you earn your provisional license, a few restrictions will still apply:
First violation of learner's permit or provisional license restrictions results a written warning letter. Upon the second violation, your license will be suspended for one (1) month. Further violations will result in two (2)-month suspensions.
When you turn 17, your provisional drivers license can be converted into a full license provided you have had no traffic violations during the time you've had your provisional license.
Idaho law requires that you have a certain amount of auto insurance/liability coverage on any vehicle you drive. Failure to carry this mandatory insurance can result in your license being suspended plus a hefty fine.
The minimum amount of liability coverage you are required to have is as follows:
Drinking and driving in Idaho is not tolerated in Idaho and the state's DUI laws are more strict than most other states. Upon your FIRST conviction of a DUI, you will face the following penalties:
Further violations will result in more severe penalties, including an extended jail sentence and the revocation of your Idaho drivers license.
Anyone under the age of 21 who is caught driving with a blood alcohol content level of .02 or higher will have their license suspended for one (1) year and be fined up to $1,000. In fact, if you violate the age-related alcohol laws in Idaho, you could lose your instruction permit or provisional license even if you were NOT driving.
Idaho currently does not have any laws regarding the use of cell phones or text-messaging devices while driving.
Any person applying for a Idaho provisional license is required to take a state-approved driver education course consisting of 30 hours classroom time and 6 hours of supervised behind-the-wheel training. For al ist of approved drivers education courses, please visit the Idaho Department of Education's website.
In most states, you must be at least 15 1/2 to take drivers ed for your learners permit. You should check with your state's Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) (or whichever state agency handles the issuance of drivers licenses in Idaho), Idaho Department of Education, or Idaho Department of Driver License Services to make sure that you are eligible to take Idaho driver education.
Please be aware that although CyberEdDriverEd.com is sufficient for fulfilling driver education requirements in some states, in other states CyberEdDriverEd.com is only offered as a supplement to the driver education and/or training you will receive at a state-approved driving school. To find out if CyberEdDriverEd.com will meet your state's minimum driver education requirements, we recommend that you check with the Idaho Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV).
Please be aware that while in some states CyberEdDriverEd.com will be sufficient for fulfilling your state's driver education requirements, in other states CyberEdDriverEd.com is offered only as a supplement to the actual driver education and/or training you will receive at a state-approved driving school. To find out if CyberEdDriverEd.com will meet your state's minimum driver education requirements, please contact your local DMV/DVS office.