Wyoming Online Driver Education and Wyoming Licensing Procedures
So you've taken your first step towards becoming a new driver in Wyoming? Congratulations!
As you probably already know, driving is a valuable skill, but can also be extremely dangerous. Therefore, to help new teen drivers develop safe driving habits during their first few years behind the wheel, the State of Wyoming has implemented a graduated driver license program for Wyoming drivers who are under the age of 18.
We’ve summarized a few things you’ll need to know as you begin the process of becoming a licensed driver in Wyoming.
Wyoming Restricted Learners Permit (aka Hardship Permit)
Although the normal age for getting a learner's permit is 15, you may be eligible for a restricted learner's permit if you live more than 5 miles from your school or job. You would have to complete some extra paperwork, so please visit the Wyoming Department of Transporation (DOT) website for more information.
Wyoming Learners Permit (aka--Instruction Permit)
- You may apply for a learners permit in Wyoming once you reach your 15th birthday. When you're ready to head down to your local driver's license office, please be sure to take the following paperwork with you:
- Birth certificate (must be state-certified)
- Completed Learner's permit application (your parents/guardians must have signed it in the presence of a notary public)
- $20 to cover the learner's permit fee
At the driver's license office, you will need to first take a vision screening test. If that goes well, you will be given the written test (knowledge of road rules). If you pass it, you will be issued a learner's permit, which is valid for 1 year.
You may only drive if you are accompanied by a licensed driver who is at least 18 years old who is actively supervising your driving from the front passenger seat.
Wyoming Intermediate License
- You may apply for an intermediate license if you meat the following requirements:
- You must have reached your 16th birthday
- Completed a state-approved drivers education course
- Completed 50 hours of supervised driving practice (outside of your drivers ed course) which includes at least 10 hours of night driving
When you're ready to upgrade to an intermediate license, head back down to the driver's license office. Be sure to bring your learner's permit with you, along with your ID documents and your completed application form (signed by your parents). You will need to pass a road test in order to get your intermediate license.
- Family passengers are okay, but you may only have 1 non-family member passenger riding in the car with you
- No driving between the hours of 11pm and 5am unless you're driving to/from work, school or due to a medical emergency (you must have documentation to verify)
- Everyone in the car must be wearing seat belts
When you are 16 years and 6 months old, you may apply for a regular driver's license and the above restrictions will be removed.
Wyoming Auto Insurance & Financial Responsibility Laws
State law requires that you have at least a certain amount of auto insurance/liability coverage on any vehicle you drive. The minimum amount of liability coverage required in Wyoming is as follows:
$20,000--personal injury (1 person)
$50,000--personal injury (2 or more persons)
$20,000--property damage per accident
Driving without required liability coverage is a crime. If you are found to be driving while uninsured, you risk losing your license and paying a hefty fine.
Wyoming Drunk Driving Laws
Driving while under the influence of alcohol is strictly prohibited in Wyoming--and this law is strictly enforced.
Upon your FIRST conviction of a DUI, you will face the following penalties:
- 6 months in jail
- A fine ranging from $750 to $1,000
- 90-day license suspension
- Substance Abuse Assessment
- Installment of an ignition interlock device on your vehicle
Repeat DUI violations will result in even more severe penalties, including extended jail time, fines, and the revocation of your driver's license.
Wyoming Cell Phone & Text-Messaging Laws
Effective July, 2010, Wyoming law prohibits teen-aged drivers from reading, composing, or sending text messages while they are driving.
Wyoming Drivers Education
Teen-agers in Wyoming are required to take a state-approved drivers education class as part of the graduated licensing program. For a list of approved drivers education courses available, please visit the Wyoming Department of Transportation website.