We have everything you need to earn your
Our online driver education courses are fun, interactive, and convenient. Upon completion
of our permit course, you can begin driving with an instructor.
Other course features:
So you've taken your first step towards becoming a new driver in Ohio? Congratulations!
As you probably already know, driving is a valuable skill, but can also be extremely dangerous. Therefore, to help new teen drivers develop safe driving habits during their first few years behind the wheel, the State of Ohio has implemented a graduated driver license program for Ohio drivers who are under the age of 18.
We’ve summarized a few things you’ll need to know as you begin the process of becoming a licensed driver in Ohio.
You will be eligible to apply for an instruction permit in Ohio when you are 15 years and 6 months old. When you go down to the local driver's license office, be sure to take the following paperwork/documents with you:
At the driver's license office, you will first be given a vision screening test, and then you will need to take a written (knowledge) test (a practice written test is available at the Ohio BMV's website). If you pass it, then you will be issued an instruction permit.
With an instruction permit, there are some restrictions you'll need to follow:
To apply for a probationary license, you must meet the following requirements:
You will need to pass a road test before you will be issued your probationary license.
With a probationary license, you will still need to adhere to some restrictions:
These restrictions are removed after you turn 18.
State law requires that you have at least a certain amount of auto insurance/liability coverage on any vehicle you drive. The minimum amount of liability coverage required in Ohio is as follows:
Driving without the required amount of auto insurance is a crime. If you are found to be driving while uninsured, you risk losing your license and paying a hefty fine.
Drinking while under the influence of alcohol is strictly prohibited in Ohio, and the law is strictly enforced.
Upon your FIRST Ohio DUI conviction, you will face the following penalties:
Further DUI convictions will result in even more severe penalties, including extended jail time, fines, and the revocation of your driver's license.
There is currently no statewide law prohibiting the use of cell phones in Ohio, however teen-aged drivers may not use cell phones while driving in the cities of Brooklyn, North Olmstead, and Walton Hills.
For more information on drivers education including a list of approved drivers ed courses in Ohio, please visit the Ohio BMV website.
In most states, you must be at least 15 1/2 to take drivers ed for your learners permit. You should check with your state's Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) (or whichever state agency handles the issuance of drivers licenses in Ohio) to make sure that you are eligible to take Ohio driver education.
Please be aware that although CyberEdDriverEd.com is sufficient for fulfilling driver education requirements in some states, in other states CyberEdDriverEd.com is only offered as a supplement to the driver education and/or training you will receive at a state-approved driving school. To find out if CyberEdDriverEd.com will meet your state's minimum driver education requirements, we recommend that you check with the Ohio Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV).