An overview of our Utah program

We have everything you need to earn your Utah license online!

Our online driver education courses are fun, interactive, and convenient. Upon completion of our permit course, you can begin driving with an instructor.

Other course features:

  • Automatic progress tracking so you when you log off the system will pick up exactly where you left off
  • Unlimited access to review course material
  • Unlimited chances to pass your online final exam
  • DMV certificate of completion mailed directly to you
  • Try before you buy - take the entire course up until the final exam without paying

Utah Online Driver Education and Utah Licensing Procedures

So you've taken your first step towards becoming a new driver in Utah? Congratulations!

As you probably already know, driving is a valuable skill, but can also be extremely dangerous. Therefore, to help new teen drivers develop safe driving habits during their first few years behind the wheel, the State of Utah has implemented a graduated driver license program for Utah drivers who are under the age of 18.

We’ve summarized a few things you’ll need to know as you begin the process of becoming a licensed driver in Utah.

Utah Instruction Permit (aka--Learners Permit)

You will be able to apply for an instruction permit in Utah after your 15th birthday.

  • When you go down to your local driver's license office, be sure to take along the following paperwork:
  • Valid Forms of ID (For a list of acceptable ID documents, please visit the Utah DPS website)
  • Social Security card (or SSN proof, such as a W-2 form)
  • Proof of residency in Utah
  • $15 for the fee

At the driver's license office, you will need to first pass a medical and eye exam, and then the written test. Then you will be issued an instruction permit.

Instruction Permit--Restrictions:

  • You may only drive if a licensed driver who's at least 21 years old is in the car and actively supervising your driving from the front passenger seat.
  • Everyone in the car must wear seatbelts

Utah Intermediate License (aka--Minor License)

  • After you turn 16, you will be eligible to apply for your intermediate license provided you meet the following requirements:
  • Have held an instruction permit, with a clean driving record, for 6 months
  • Completed a state-approved drivers education course
  • Accumulated at least 40 hours of supervised driving practice (10 of which must be at night). Keep a log of your driving practice times and have your parent/guardian sign it

When you're ready to upgrade to an intermediate license, gather up the documents you took with you to the driver license office last time along with your instruction permit and head back down to the driver license office. You will need to pass a road test to get your intermediate driver's license.

Intermediate License--Restrictions:

  • For the first 6 months (or until you turn 18, whichever comes first), no passengers under 21 years old may ride with you (unless they are family members)
  • You may not drive between the hours of 12 midnight and 5am, unless you're going to or from your job, a school-sponsored activity, on assignment for a farmer/rancher, or you have a medical emergency

After you turn 18, all of these restrictions are lifted.

Utah Auto Insurance & Financial Responsibility Laws

State law requires that you have at least a certain amount of auto insurance/liability coverage on any vehicle you drive. The minimum amount of liability coverage required in Utah is as follows:

  • $25,000--personal injury (1 person)
  • $50,000--personal injury (2 or more persons)
  • $15,000--property damage per accident

Driving without the required amount of auto insurance is a crime. If you are found to be driving while uninsured, you risk losing your license and paying a hefty fine.

Utah Drunk Driving Laws

Drinking while under the influence of alcohol is strictly prohibited in Utah, and the law is strictly enforced.

Upon your FIRST Utah DUI conviction, you will face the following penalties:

  • 48 hours (minimum) in Jail or a 48-hour work service program
  • Home confinement
  • $700 fine
  • 120-day License Suspension
  • Alcohol/drug screening, assessment, education, & treatment (all at your expense!)

Further DUI convictions will result in even more severe penalties, including extended jail time, fines, community service, and the revocation of your driver's license.

Utah Cell Phone & Text-Messaging Laws

Utah currently prohibits teen-aged drivers from using a cell phone while they are driving.

Utah Drivers Education

For more information on approved drivers education courses available to teen-age drivers in South Carolina, please visit Utah's DPS website.

Driving Schools


I do not have a bank account, so how can I pay for the Utah online drivers education course?
The Utah online drivers ed course allows you to pay by a credit card, or you can also mail in a money order (which you can purchase at almost any major grocery store).
Do you offer several Federal Express options for shipping the Utah internet drivers ed certificate of completion?
Yes!  At registration, you can select your preferred method of your Utah certificate of completion. offers several different options for shipping, including regular US Mail and Federal Express.  If you select regular US Mail, your online Utah traffic school certificate will be delivered in 7-10 business days.  If you select Federal Express, you have several options! You can select Priority Overnight (by or before 10:30AM the next business morning), Standard Overnight (by or before 5PM the next business day), Second Day (by or before 5PM on the second business day), Express (by or before 5PM on the third business day), or Saturday delivery (by or before 12PM on Saturday) if you complete your online Utah traffic school course on a Friday.
If I take the Utah internet drivers ed course, can you assure me that the payment information is secure over the website?
Yes! uses the very latest in SSL data encryption technology to make sure that your personal and payment information is 100% secure.   We also offer several payment methods for our Utah internet driver education course, including credit card, check and online check.
What do I need to pay for the Utah online drivers ed course for new drivers?
The cost of's Utah online drivers ed course for new drivers is $30.00.  Discounts may be available if you have a "refer a friend" discount code.
How old do I have to be to take my required Utah driver education?
In most states, you must be at least 15 1/2 to take drivers ed for your learners permit.   We recommend that you check with your state's Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) (or whichever state agency oversees the issuing of drivers' licenses in Utah) to make sure that you are old enough to take Utah driver education.

Please be aware that although is sufficient for fulfilling driver education requirements in some states, in other states is only offered as a supplement to the driver education and/or training you will receive at a state-approved driving school.  To find out if will meet your state's minimum driver education requirements, we recommend that you check with the Utah DMV/DVS.

I want to take a Utah internet drivers ed course, but if I do not pass the Utah final exam, can I take it again?
Yes!  Once you finish the Utah drivers ed internet course, you must take a Utah final exam.  If you don't pass the Utah test on your first try, you can retake it as many times as you need until you pass!
I plan to take a Utah driver education course soon. I’d like to know if I’d get any discount by taking's Utah online teen driver education course?
It depends on which state you live in and which company you are insured with.  In some states, insurance carriers do offer insurance discounts to teen-aged drivers who successfully complete an online Utah drivers education course.  We recommend that you contact your insurance agent in Utah to see what, if any, discount you may qualify for by enrolling in's Utah online drivers education course.
Can I access the Utah online drivers ed course from a different computer than the one I used to register for the Utah online drivers ed course?
Yes, you can do that. You can access the Utah online learners permit course from any computer(s) with internet access, with no limit to the number of computers that may be used. For example, you can take part of the Utah online driver education course at work and another part of the Utah online drivers ed course from home. Whatever works for you!
Am I allowed some breaks while taking the Utah internet drivers ed course?
Yes. is designed to work around your schedule, and you may take as many breaks as needed during the Utah online drivers ed course.
If I complete the Utah internet drivers ed course today, when can I receive my Utah certificate of completion?
How quickly you get your Utah online drivers ed certificate of completion depends upon the shipping method you select at registration.  We offer regular US mail shipping and expedited shipping through Federal Express, so you can receive your Utah certificate in as little as 24 hours.
How much time can I expect to devote to the Utah online driver education course?
You can expect to devote about 30 hours during the Utah online driver education course that we offer at  However, in some states where timers are not required you may not have to spend the entire 30 hours taking the course.
Am I able to request a refund on my Utah online driver ed course at any time?
Yes, you are able to request a refund on your Utah online driver education course at any time, as long as it’s before your Utah certificate of completion has been shipped. This policy makes us different from our competitors, who will not allow refund requests after a certain point in the Utah online learners permit course.
Does the Utah online driver education course on have any options that will make it accessible for people who have trouble reading large amounts of text?
Yes it does. For those with vision problems, our “Read Along” option will ease the strain on your eyes during the Utah online driver education course. It reads the Utah online learners permit course material aloud as you follow along with the online text.
How can I be sure that the Utah internet drivers education course meets all Utah DMV/DVS approved class requirements?
The Utah Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) or Driver and Vehicle Services (DVS) will be able to tell you whether will fulfill your state's driver education requirements or whether may be taken as a supplement to the driver education and/or training you will receive at a state-approved driving school. 
Do I need Utah driver education paperwork before I can learn to drive a car?
Most likely, yes.  Nearly every state requires learner's permit applicants to successfully complete a state-approved driver education program to become eligible to obtain a learner's permit.  Although this is a general rule and may not apply in every state, we strongly recommend that you have your certificate of completion in hand when you go to the Utah DMV office to take your Utah learner's permit test. 
Will I be able to review each section of the Utah internet drivers ed course while I am taking the Utah online drivers ed course quiz?
You will not have access to any of the Utah online drivers ed course materials during each Utah online drivers ed course quiz, but if you fail the Utah online drivers ed course quiz you will be allowed to go back and review the previous Utah online drivers ed course chapter.
What are the benefits of taking the Utah driver education course online instead of in a classroom?
The main benefit is flexibility. With Utah online drivers ed at, you have the freedom to learn at your own pace, without sitting in a classroom for hours listening to a teacher. Even if you live in a state where online driver education is not allowed, the Utah driver ed course offered by can still be a valuable resource that will reinforce the things you learn in the classroom.
Will I have to verify my ID before I'm allowed to take the Utah online drivers education for new drivers course?
Although many states do not require us to verify the identity of our students, some states do.  If your state has this requirement (we’ll let you know if it does), it will likely take the form of us asking you personal questions at various times during the course.