We have everything you need to earn your
Our online driver education courses are fun, interactive, and convenient. Upon completion
of our permit course, you can begin driving with an instructor.
Other course features:
So you’ve taken your first step to become a new driver in Georgia? Congratulations!
As you probably already know, driving is a valuable skill to know but it can also be extremely dangerous. Therefore, to help new teen drivers develop safe driving habits during their first few years behind the wheel, the State of Georgia has implemented a graduated driver license program for Georgia drivers who are between the ages of 15-18.
We’ve summarized a few things you’ll need to know as you go begin your process of becoming a licensed driver in Georgia.
You must be at least 15 years old to be eligible for an instruction permit in Georgia. When you’re ready to take your written drivers test, you will need to bring the following items with you to your local DMV office:
In addition to a vision test, you will need to take and pass two (2) written tests: one on road signs and one on road rules. If you pass both of them, you will be issued a Georgia instruction permit, which is valid for 24 months.
Please know that you may not drive alone with an instruction permit. The law requires you to have a licensed driver, at least 21 years of age sitting next to you in the front passenger seat at all times when you drive.
After you’ve had your Georgia instruction permit for one (1) year, you’re ready to upgrade to a Georgia intermediate license provided you have met the following prerequisites:
You will need to schedule an appointment to take your road test by calling your local Georgia DDS office.
Before you head down to the Georgia DDS office, you will need to gather up/take care of a few things:
If you pass both a vision test and the road test, you will be issued an intermediate driver’s license. There are still some restrictions which will apply to you:
When you turn 18, these restrictions will be removed and you will receive a Class C Drivers License (provided you have had a clean driving record!).
State law requires that you carry auto insurance liability coverage on any vehicle you drive. For details as to how much coverage is required, please contact the Georgia DDS.
If you are found to be driving without the mandated amount of liability insurance, you could have your license suspended and face a huge fine.
If you drive under the influence of alcohol in Georgia, you will face very serious consequences. Upon your FIRST conviction of a Georgia DUI, you will be facing the following penalties:
Further DUI convictions will result in more severe penalties including extended time in jail, fines, and the revocation of your drivers license.
There are currently no laws which prohibit the use of text-messaging or talking on a cell phone while driving in Georgia.
If you are 16 or 17 and are applying for an intermediate drivers license, you may skip the required road test so long as you’ve completed a state-approved drivers education course. Please visit the Georgia DDS website for a list of approved drivers ed courses.
In most states, you must be at least 15 1/2 to take drivers ed for your learners permit. You should check with your state's Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) (or whichever state agency handles the issuance of drivers licenses in Georgia) to make sure that you are eligible to take Georgia driver education.
Please be aware that although CyberEdDriverEd.com is sufficient for fulfilling driver education requirements in some states, in other states CyberEdDriverEd.com is only offered as a supplement to the driver education and/or training you will receive at a state-approved driving school. To find out if CyberEdDriverEd.com will meet your state's minimum driver education requirements, we recommend that you check with the Georgia Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV).