We have everything you need to earn your
Our online driver education courses are fun, interactive, and convenient. Upon completion
of our permit course, you can begin driving with an instructor.
Other course features:
So you've taken your first step towards becoming a new driver in Kansas? Congratulations!
As you probably already know, driving is a valuable skill, but can also be extremely dangerous. Therefore, to help new teen drivers develop safe driving habits during their first few years behind the wheel, the State of Kansas has implemented a graduated driver license program for Iowa drivers who are under the age of 18.
We’ve summarized a few things you’ll need to know as you begin the process of becoming a licensed driver in Kansas.
You need to be at least 14 years old to apply for an instruction permit in Kansas.
When you're ready to get your permit, you will need to make an appointment at your local driver's license office. Be sure to take the following paperwork/documents with you:
At the driver's license office, you will need to pass both a vision and a written test. However, you can skip out of taking the written test if you've successfully completed a state-approved drivers education course!
After you receive your instruction permit, you may begin driving under certain restrictions:
To be eligible to apply for a restricted driver's license, you need to meet the following prerequisites:
When you're ready to apply for your restricted driver's license, head down to your local driver's license office and take your instruction permit as well as the same ID documents and written parental consent form (if you're under 18) you took when you went to get your instruction permit.
Once you have your restricted driver's license, a few restrictions still apply to you:
After you've had your restricted license for 1 year and have maintained a clean driving record, you will be eligible to apply for a full, unrestricted Kansas driver's license.
Kansas law requires you to have auto insurance liability coverage on any vehicle you drive. The minimum amount of coverage required is as follows:
Driving without auto insurance is a crime. If you are found to be driving without the required coverage, you will face a possible suspension of your driver's license plus a hefty fine.
If you drive while under the influence of alcohol in Kansas, you will be in for some ugly consequences. Upon your FIRST DUI conviction you will face the following penalties:
Further DUI violations will result in even more severe penalties including extended time in jail and the revocation of your driver's license.
Kansas currently prohibits teen-aged drivers from using cell phones or text-messaging while driving.
For a list of state-approved drivers education courses in Kansas, please visit the Kansas Department of Revenue's website.
In most states, you must be at least 15 1/2 to take drivers ed for your learners permit. You should check with your state's Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) (or whichever state agency handles the issuance of drivers licenses in Kansas) to make sure that you are eligible to take Kansas driver education.
Please be aware that although CyberEdDriverEd.com is sufficient for fulfilling driver education requirements in some states, in other states CyberEdDriverEd.com is only offered as a supplement to the driver education and/or training you will receive at a state-approved driving school. To find out if CyberEdDriverEd.com will meet your state's minimum driver education requirements, we recommend that you check with the Kansas Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV).