Delaware Online Driver Education and Delaware Licensing Procedures
So you’ve taken your first step to become a new driver in Delaware? Congratulations!
As you probably already know, driving is a valuable skill to know but it can also be extremely dangerous. Therefore, to help new teen drivers develop safe driving habits during their first few years behind the wheel, the State of Delaware has implemented a graduated driver license program for Delaware drivers who are between the ages of 16-18.
We’ve summarized a few things you’ll need to know as you go begin your process of becoming a licensed driver in Delaware.
The Delaware DMV maintains a "Teen Driver Website" which has a lot of useful information for new, teen-aged drivers like yourself.
Delaware Instruction Permit (aka--Learners Permit)
In Delaware, you need to be at least 16 years old and have successfully completed a state-approved drivers education course to be eligible for an instruction permit.
When you are ready to get your permit, you will need to take the following items with you to the drivers license office:
- A valid, passport-sized photo
- Your social security card
- Proof of Delaware residency
- $12.50 to cover the application fee
Delaware uses a "sponsor program" in which your parent/guardians or another responsible adult works with you as you learn how to drive. This person must be licensed to drive in Delaware and must sign your original driver license application.
During the first six (6) months after you receive your instruction permit, you must drive with a licensed driver who’s at least 21 sitting next to you in the front passenger’s seat. During this time, you need to have logged at least 50 hours of driving (10 of which must be at night). Your sponsor will need to sign off on your log certifying that you have completed these hours.
As you are probably have figured out already, there are some restrictions associated with an instruction permit:
- You must be accompanied by a licensed instructor for your first six (6) months of driving.
- No cell phones or text-messaging while you are driving.
- You may not drive at all between 10pm and 6am unless driving to/from a school or church activity.
- You may only drive with your supervisor and one (1) other passenger
- Safety belts must be worn at all times.
- During the second six (6) months, you may drive without supervision between 6am and 10pm, but you may only have one (1) passenger unless a supervising driver is present (immediate family members are excluded from this requirement).
Please adhere to the above restrictions. They are for your safety as well as those around you. Violating any of them will result in your license being suspended for 2 months (on the first offense) and for 4 months (on repeated offences).
Your First Delaware Driver's License
After you’ve had your instruction permit for one (1) year, you’ll be ready to apply for your first Delaware driver’s license provided you meet the following prerequisites:
- Completed 50 hours of behind-the-wheel training (10 of which must be at night) as well as a state-approved drivers education course.
- You must have had your instruction permit for at least 12 months.
- Your sponsor must certify that you have completed the above requirements.
When you go down to your local driver’s license office, you will need to pass three (3) tests: a vision, a written (knowledge), and the road test.
Delaware Auto Insurance Delaware Financial Responsibility Laws
Delaware law requires that you must carry auto insurance liability coverage on any vehicle you drive. You must carry proof of insurance (i.e.—an insurance card) with you whenever you drive. If you are found to be driving without the required insurance coverage, you will face a suspension of your license plus a fine.
The minimum amount of coverage you are required to have in Delaware is as follows:
- $15,000—personal injury
- $30,000—total injury (death)
- $10,000—property damage
Delaware Drunk Driving Laws
Driving under the influence of alcohol is strictly prohibited in Delaware…and the prohibition is strictly enforced. Upon your FIRST (1st) conviction of a Delware DUI, you will face the following penalties:
- Suspension of your license ranging anywhere from 12 to 24 months
- Fines totaling between $500 and $1,500
- A jail term ranging from 60 days to six (6) months
Of course, repeat violations of drunk driving will result in even harsher penalties including extended jail sentences, fines, community service, and the revocation of your driver’s license.
If you’ve been drinking, do NOT drive. It’s not worth it!
Delaware Cell Phone & Text Messaging Laws
Delaware law prohibits teen-aged drivers from using a cell phone or text-messaging while driving. Your license will be suspended for one (1) month upon your first violation of this law. Repeat offenses could have result in your license being suspended for three (3) or more months.
Delaware Online Driver Education
Before you can get a Delaware instruction permit, you must have either completed in be currently enrolled in a state-approved drivers education course. Visit the Delaware DMV website for a list of approved drivers ed courses.