We have everything you need to earn your
Our online driver education courses are fun, interactive, and convenient. Upon completion
of our permit course, you can begin driving with an instructor.
Other course features:
So you've taken your first step towards becoming a new driver in Washington? Congratulations!
As you probably already know, driving is a valuable skill, but can also be extremely dangerous. Therefore, to help new teen drivers develop safe driving habits during their first few years behind the wheel, the State of Washington has implemented a graduated driver license program for Washington drivers who are under the age of 18.
We’ve summarized a few things you’ll need to know as you begin the process of becoming a licensed driver in Washington.
You may apply for an instruction permit in Washington when you are 15 years and 6 months old. However, if you enroll in a state-approved drivers' ed course, you may apply on the your 15th birthday.
When you're ready to get your instruction permit, head down to your local driver's license office and take the following paperwork with you:
At the driver's license office, you will need to first pass a vision screening test, and then you'll be given your written test (based on material covered in the WA Driver Guide). If you pass, you'll be issued an instruction permit.
You may apply for your intermediate license if you meet the following requirements:
When you're ready to upgrade to an intermediate license, call the local driver's license office and schedule an appointment to take your road test. Remember to take the same paperwork you took when you went to get your instruction permit, plus your instruction permit (so you can surrender it). If you pass the road test, you will be issued an intermediate license.
These restrictions will be lifted once you turn 18.
State law requires that you have at least a certain amount of auto insurance/liability coverage on any vehicle you drive. The minimum amount of liability coverage required in Washington is as follows:
Driving without required liability coverage is a crime. If you are found to be driving while uninsured, you risk losing your license and paying a hefty fine.
Driving while under the influence of alcohol is strictly prohibited in Washington--and this law is strictly enforced.
Upon your FIRST conviction of a DUI, you will face the following penalties:
Further DUI violations will result in even more severe penalties, including extended jail time, fines, and the revocation of your driver's license.
Washington state law currently prohibits teen-aged drivers from using cell phones while driving (no, it doesn't matter if they're "hands-free"!)
For more information on state-approved drivers education courses available in your area, please visit the Washington DMV website.
In most states, you must be at least 15 1/2 to take drivers ed for your learners permit. You should check with your state's Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) (or whichever state agency handles the issuance of drivers licenses in Washington) to make sure that you are eligible to take Washington driver education.
Please be aware that although CyberEdDriverEd.com is sufficient for fulfilling driver education requirements in some states, in other states CyberEdDriverEd.com is only offered as a supplement to the driver education and/or training you will receive at a state-approved driving school. To find out if CyberEdDriverEd.com will meet your state's minimum driver education requirements, we recommend that you check with the Washington Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV).