We have everything you need to earn your
Our online driver education courses are fun, interactive, and convenient. Upon completion
of our permit course, you can begin driving with an instructor.
Other course features:
So you've taken your first step towards becoming a new driver in Nevada? Congratulations!
As you probably already know, driving is a valuable skill, but can also be extremely dangerous. Therefore, to help new teen drivers develop safe driving habits during their first few years behind the wheel, the State of Nevada has implemented a graduated driver license program for Nevada drivers who are between the ages of 15-18.
We’ve summarized a few things you’ll need to know as you begin the process of becoming a licensed driver in Nevada.
To apply for an instruction permit in Nevada, you must meet the following requirements:
When you're ready to get your instruction permit, you will need to go down to the local driver's license office and take the following items with you:
To get your instruction permit, you'll need to pass a vision screening test, the 50-question written test, and an initial road skills test (if you fail, the retest fee is $10).
With an instruction permit, you will need to adhere to the following restrictions:
To apply for a provisional license, you must meet the following requirements:
Have had your instruction permit for at least 6 months with a clean driving record (no at-fault accidents, moving violations, or alchohol or drug-related convictions)
Please see the Beginning Driver Training Guide on the Nevada DMV website. This is designed to help parents and teen with driving practice.
When you're ready to get your provisional license, head back down to the driver's license office with the following paperwork/documents:
With a provisional license, some restrictions will still apply:
After you turn 18, all teen-driver restrictions are removed.
The State of Nevada requires that you maintain a certain amount of liability coverage on any vehicle you drive. The minimum required coverage is as follows:
Driving while uninsured is a crime! If you drive without the required insurance coverage, you will face having your license suspended, plus a hefty fine.
Drinking while under the influence of alcohol is strictly prohibited in Nevada, and the law is strictly enforced.
Upon your FIRST Nevada DUI conviction, you will face the following penalties:
Further DUI convictions will result in even more severe penalties, including extended jail time, community service, and the revocation of your driver's license.
Although there are currently no laws in Nevada prohibiting the use of cell phones and other electronic devices while driving, that does not mean it is safe to use them while you drive! Please, for your own safety as well as those around you, please wait to use your cell phone until you reach your destination. If you can't wait, please take a moment and find a safe place to park first.
For more information on drivers education including a list of approved drivers ed courses in Nevada, please visit the Nevada DMV website.
In most states, you must be at least 15 1/2 to take drivers ed for your learners permit. You should check with your state's Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) (or whichever state agency handles the issuance of drivers licenses in Nevada) to make sure that you are eligible to take Nevada driver education.
Please be aware that although CyberEdDriverEd.com is sufficient for fulfilling driver education requirements in some states, in other states CyberEdDriverEd.com is only offered as a supplement to the driver education and/or training you will receive at a state-approved driving school. To find out if CyberEdDriverEd.com will meet your state's minimum driver education requirements, we recommend that you check with the Nevada Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV).