We have everything you need to earn your
Our online driver education courses are fun, interactive, and convenient. Upon completion
of our permit course, you can begin driving with an instructor.
Other course features:
So you’ve taken your first step to become a new driver in Connecticut? Congratulations!
As you probably already know, driving is a valuable skill to know but it can also be extremely dangerous. Therefore, to help new teen drivers develop safe driving habits during their first few years behind the wheel, the State of Connecticut has implemented a graduated driver license program for Connecticut drivers who are between the ages of 15-18.
We’ve summarized a few things you’ll need to know as you go begin your process of becoming a licensed driver in Connecticut.
You have to be 16 years old before you can apply for a Connecticut instruction permit (aka "learner’s permit"). When you’re ready to take your test, please take the following items with you to the drivers license office:
After you’ve had your instruction permit for at least six (6) months, you will be eligible to take the road test for your first Connecticut driver’s license. (or 4 months if you’ve completed a state-approved drivers education class).You cannot drive alone with a CT Instruction Permit.
You must always be accompanied by either a licensed parent/guardian, a certified driving instructor, or an adult at least 20 years of age with a valid license for at least 4 years (with no suspensions). This person must be sitting next to you in the front passenger seat.
Before you can get your first Connecticut driver’s license, you will need to have done the following:
When you’re ready to go for your Connecticut provisional driver license, you will need to take the following items to the local drivers license office:
If you pass the vision test, written test, and road test, you will be issued your provisional driver license.
Be warned that Connecticut is not shy about suspending drivers licenses for drivers who are 16-17 years in age. You may lose your license if you engage in any of the following type of activities while driving:
If your license is suspended you will need to pay a restoration fee of $125 to get it back after the suspension period is over.
You must carry auto insurance coverage on any vehicle you drive in Connecticut. The minimum coverage requirements are as follows:
If you are found to be driving without the minimum mandatory insurance coverage, you can be fined. If you are involved in an accident and you didn’t have the required minimum coverage, you won’t be driving again any time soon!
Driving drunk is a major crime and is taken very seriously. Upon your FIRST conviction of a Connecticut DUI, you will face the following penalties:
Further DUI violations will result in more severe penalties, including being sent to prison and revocation of your drivers license.
Connecticut law prohibits teen drivers from texting or using a cell phone while driving. Violation of this law carries a 30-day license suspension, court fees, and a $125 license restoration fee. The second offense will get your license suspended for six (6) months.
Drivers under Age 18 must show proof that they’ve completed a state-approved drivers education course which includes at least 40 hours of behind-the-wheel training and 22 hours of home-based training. Please see the Connecticut DMV’s website for a list of state-approved drivers ed classes.