We have everything you need to earn your
Our online driver education courses are fun, interactive, and convenient. Upon completion
of our permit course, you can begin driving with an instructor.
Other course features:
So you’ve taken your first step to become a new driver in Colorado? Congratulations!
As you probably already know, driving is a valuable skill to know but it can also be extremely dangerous. Therefore, to help new teen drivers develop safe driving habits during their first few years behind the wheel, the State of Colorado has implemented a graduated driver license program for Colorado drivers who are between the ages of 15-18.
We’ve summarized a few things you’ll need to know as you go begin your process of becoming a licensed driver in Colorado:
An instruction permit is valid for three (3) years. You need to be at least 15 years, 6 months old to apply for an instruction permit (aka "drivers education" permit) in Colorado. You will need to have completed a state-approved 4-hour driver awareness course, which you may enroll in when you turn 15. If you do not wish to take this required course, then you’ll have to wait until you’re 16 before applying for your instruction permit.
Please take all necessary documents to the drivers license office with you which verify your name, age, and lawful presence in the U.S. (Your social security card, birth certificate, and a parental affidavit should suffice). You will also need to print out Form DR2460 from the Colorado DMV webpage. Please contact the Colorado DMV for complete details.
In order to apply for your Colorado Driver Awareness Permit, you will need to have completed the following prerequisites:
Please visit the Colorado DMV website for a list of state-approved drivers education courses.
If there is no Colorado-approved school offering at least 30 hours long within 20 miles of your residence, then 12 additional hours of driving instruction may be completed with a licensed parent or guardian (on top of the minimum 50 hours required).
Before you can apply for your Colorado Driver Awareness Permit, you must also complete the necessary forms and a 4-hour state-approved driver awareness program. Keep in mind that you must hold this Colorado Driver Awareness Permit for 12 months before applying for your Colorado driver license.
There are several restrictions you need to keep in mind regarding your Colorado learner's license or Colorado driver's license. Any driver under 18 is not allowed to drive between 12AM and 5 AM unless you are:
Also, Colorado drivers under 18 may not carry passengers under 21 for the first six (6) months after receiving his/her Colorado license. After one year, you may begin driving with passengers in the car who are under 21. Please remember that everyone in the car must be wearing seat belts!
You must carry auto insurance on any car you drive. The minimum amount of coverage required is as follows:
Driving without required insurance coverage can result in your license being suspended.
If you drive under the influence of alcohol in Colorado, it could very well be the last time you drive for a long time, and that’s assuming you’re lucky enough not to be sent to prison. Upon your FIRST conviction of a Colorado DUI, you will face:
Repeat violations of drunk driving will result in even more severe penalties including the revocation of your drivers license. If you’ve been drinking, DO NOT DRIVE. It’s not worth it.
As of 2009, it is illegal to send or read text messages while driving in Colorado. Drivers under 18 may not use cell phones or any other type of wireless communication devices while driving.
In short, if you need to talk on the phone or send a text, park your car in a safe area first.
Before you can apply for a Driver Awareness license, you need to have completed a 30-hour study course (classroom or on the internet), and completed a total of 50 hours supervised driving time (10 of which must be at night, and 20 of which must be with a licensed parent or guardian). If there is no state-approved, 30-hour drivers ed study course located within a 20-mile radius of your home, you may substitute the drivers ed course with an additional 12 hours of behind-the-wheel driving time with your licensed parent/guardian.
In most states, you must be at least 15 1/2 to take drivers ed for your learners permit. You should check with your state's Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) (or whichever state agency handles the issuance of drivers licenses in Colorado) to make sure that you are eligible to take Colorado driver education.
Please be aware that although CyberEdDriverEd.com is sufficient for fulfilling driver education requirements in some states, in other states CyberEdDriverEd.com is only offered as a supplement to the driver education and/or training you will receive at a state-approved driving school. To find out if CyberEdDriverEd.com will meet your state's minimum driver education requirements, we recommend that you check with the Colorado Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV).