We have everything you need to earn your
Our online driver education courses are fun, interactive, and convenient. Upon completion
of our permit course, you can begin driving with an instructor.
Other course features:
So you are looking to get a learners permit to drive in Alaska? Well, you’ve come to the right place. You will find the following information very helpful as you go through the process of learning how to be a safe and smart driver in Alaska.
Since teen-agers are relatively new at driving, Alaska has a graduated driver license program set up which gives increases your driving privileges (or lessens the restrictions on them) as you become a safer, smarter, and more experienced driver.So, let’s go over a few important things you’ll need to know:
You can apply for an Alaska instruction permit (or learners permit) after you turn 14. Your instruction permit is valid for 2 years (unless you get it when you’re 19 or 20, in which case it will expire 90 days after you’re 21st birthday) . A learners’ permit may only be renewed once.
When you are ready to take your instruction permit test, you will need to take the following documents with you to the local drivers license office:
Additionally, you will need to bring one (1) of the following items:
To get your instruction permit, you will need to pass both a vision test and your written test (details can be found on Alaska’s DMV website). Once you receive your instruction permit, you may begin driving, but you must always have a licensed Alaska driver who’s at least 21 years old sitting in the front passenger seat whenever you drive.
You may never drive alone with only a instruction permit!
If you are at least 16 years old (but under 18) and you have had your instruction permit for at least six (6) months you may be eligible to apply for a provisional drivers license if you meet the following conditions:
When you go to take your road test, you will need to bring the following items with you to the test site:
With a provisional license, some restrictions still apply to you:
Once you turn 18, all provisional restrictions are lifted. However, if you’re 16 or 17, after six (6) months of safe, conviction-free driving with your provisional license and have had no convictions of illegal alcohol or drug use, the provisional restrictions may be removed. Removing the restrictions will require another trip to the local drivers license office, a new notarized parental consent form, and-yes-another $15. If you are driving with a provisional license when you turn 18, you will need to go to the drivers license office and pay $15 to have the provisional restrictions removed.
You must have auto insurance coverage on the car you drive (if you drive your parents’ car, then they need to have coverage on the vehicle). The minimum coverage requirements are as follows:
If you drive without proper insurance coverage, you very likely you won’t be driving again for a long time.
You probably don’t need any lectures on the dangers of driving drunk—DON’T do it! Upon your first DUI conviction in Alaska, in addition to having your license suspended, you will face a $1,500.00 fine and—yes—time in jail!
As of 2008, texting while driving is a crime in Alaska. You will be charged with a felony if you are involved in an injury-causing crash while texting & driving at the same time, You will be charged with a misdemeanor if you are caught texting while driving without causing a crash. Don’t do it thinking you can’t be caught—your cell phone records can be requested by law enforcement who will check to see when/if you were engaged in texting at a specific time.
If you are 16 or 17, you must have completed at least 40 hours of supervised driving practice (signed off on by a parent, guardian, or certified driving instructor) or have completed a state-approved drivers education course.
Please contact the Alaska DMV to get a complete list of approved drivers education classes. We’ve included a partial list below:
AnchorageAA Drivers Educational School American Association of Retired Persons Anchorage Driver Training Center for Employment Education
FairbanksAlaska Peace Officers Association American Association of Retired Persons Cherokee Riders Center for Employment Education
JuneauAmerican Association of Retired Persons Kenai Peninsula, Kodiak, and SeldoviaManny's Driver EducationPeninsula Driving AcademyAmerican Association of Retired Persons
KetchikanAlaska Driving Instruction
Mat-Su ValleyAmerican Association of Retired Persons Northern Industrial Training (NIT)
PetersburgPetersburg Community School (no classes offered in the summer months)