Missouri Online Driver Education and Missouri Licensing Procedures
So you've taken your first step towards becoming a new driver in Missouri? Congratulations!
As you probably already know, driving is a valuable skill, but can also be extremely dangerous. Therefore, to help new teen drivers develop safe driving habits during their first few years behind the wheel, the State of Missouri has implemented a graduated driver license program for Iowa drivers who are under the age of 18.
We’ve summarized a few things you’ll need to know as you begin the process of becoming a licensed driver in Missouri.
Missouri Instruction Permit (aka--Learners Permit)
You need to be at least 15 years old to apply for an instruction permit in Missouri.
When you're ready to get your permit, head down to the local driver's license office and bring the following:
- Permit Application
- $3.50 for the processing fee
- Your parents/guardians (they will need to sign a permission statement)
At the driver's license office, you will be given a vision screening exam. Then you will need to pass two (2) written tests: road sign and road rules. If you pass both of them, you will be issued a Missouri instruction permit, which is valid for 12 months.
With an instruction permit, you may drive but under certain restrictions:
If you are 15, you may only practice driving with a certified driving instructor or your parents/guardians (if they have a driver's license) sitting next to you in the front passenger seat actively supervising you while you drive.
When you turn 16, you may drive with any licensed adult driver who's at least 21 years old seated in the front passenger seat.
Missouri Provisional License & Full License
To become eligible for a Missouri provisional license, you must have completed the following requirements:
- Have held your instruction permit for at least 182 days
- No alcohol-related convictions during the last 12 months
- No traffic convictions during the last 6 months
- Completed 40 hours of supervising driving (10 of which must have been at night)
Ready to head back down to the driver's license office? Gather up the same paperwork you did when you applied for your instructional permit plus $7.50 for the processing fee, and let's go!
You will be given another vision screening test, and you will once again have to pass the written road sign and road rules tests. Then, you have to take the road test. If you pass, you will be issued a Missouri provisional license.
A provisional license still carries a few restrictions:
- For the first 6 months, you may only have 1 passenger who is under 19 ride with you (unless they're are family members)
- After the first 6 months, you may only have 3 non-related passengers who are under 19 ride with you
- You may not drive between the hours of 1am and 5am unless it's to or from a job, school-sponsored activity, or an emergency. However, you may drive between these hours if you have a licensed driver who's at least 21 years old sitting in the front passenger seat.
After you have had your provisional license for 12 months, and have not accrued any traffic violations or alcohol-related convictions, you may receive your full drivers license. Just bring $10 down to the local driver's license office along with the necessary paperwork.
Missouri Auto Insurance & Financial Responsibility Laws
State law requires that you have at least a certain amount of auto insurance/liability coverage on any vehicle you drive. The minimum amount of liability coverage required in Missouri is as follows:
- $25,000--personal injury (1 person) for a single accident
- $50,000--personal injury (2 or more persons) per accident
- $10,000--property damage
- $25,000--personal injury (1 person) for uninsured motorists
- $50,000--personal injury (2 or more persons) per accident for uninsured motorists
Driving without the required amount of auto insurance coverage is a crime. If you are found to be driving while uninsured, you risk losing your license and paying a hefty fine.
Missouri Drunk Driving Laws
Driving while under the influence of alcohol is strictly prohibited in Missouri, and strictly enforced.
The FIRST time you get busted with a DUI, be prepared to face the following penalties:
- 6 months in Jail
- $500 fine
- 30-day suspension of your license
- 60-day restriction of your license
- $45 for a license reinstatement fee
- Installation of an ignition interlock device on your vehicle
Further DUI violations will result in even more severe penalties including extended time in jail, fines, and the revocation of your driver's license.
Missouri Cell Phone & Text-Messaging Laws
Missouri law currently prohibits teen-aged drivers from using cell phones or text-messaging devices while they are driving.
Missouri Drivers Education
To get more information on approved drivers education programs in Missouri, please visit the Missouri Dept. of Revenue's website.