We have everything you need to earn your
Our online driver education courses are fun, interactive, and convenient. Upon completion
of our permit course, you can begin driving with an instructor.
Other course features:
So you've taken your first step towards becoming a new driver in Kentucky? Congratulations!
As you probably already know, driving is a valuable skill, but can also be extremely dangerous. Therefore, to help new teen drivers develop safe driving habits during their first few years behind the wheel, the State of Kentucky has implemented a graduated driver license program for Iowa drivers who are under the age of 18.
We’ve summarized a few things you’ll need to know as you begin the process of becoming a licensed driver in Kentucky.
You must be at least 16 years old to be eligible to receive an instruction permit in Kentucky.
When you're ready to take your permit test, you will need to make an appointment to visit your local Circuit Court Clerk's office. Be sure to take the following documents with you to the Circuit Court Clerk's office:
Once you receive your instruction permit, you may begin driving so long as you have a licensed driver who's at least 21 years old sitting next to you in the front passenger seat and actively supervising you while you drive.
In order to apply for an intermediate driver's license in Kentucky, you will need to have met the following state requirements:
When you're ready to apply for your intermediate driver's license, go back to your local Circuit Court Clerk's office and take the road test. If you pass it, you will be issued a Kentucky intermediate driver's license.
With an intermediate driver's license, some restrictions still apply for the first 180 days:
After you have held your intermediate driver's license for 180 days with a clean driving record, you may apply for an unrestricted Kentucky driver's license.
The law requires you to carry auto insurance/liability coverage on any vehicle you drive. The minimum amount of coverage required is as follows:
Driving without required insurance coverage is a crime. If you are caught driving without auto insurance/liability coverage you will face having your license suspended plus a hefty fine.
Driving under the influence in Kentucky will get you into a heap of trouble. Upon your FIRST Kentucky DUI conviction, you will face the following penalties:
Further DUI violations will result in more severe penalties, including extended jail time, increased fines, increased community service, and the revocation of your driver's license.
Kentucky currently forbids teen-aged drivers who hold either an instructional permit or an intermediate license from using a cell phone or text-messaging device while driving.
For a list of state-approved driver's education courses in Kentucky, please contact the Kentucky Transportation Cabinet.
In most states, you must be at least 15 1/2 to take drivers ed for your learners permit. You should check with your state's Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) (or whichever state agency handles the issuance of drivers licenses in Kentucky) to make sure that you are eligible to take Kentucky driver education.
Please be aware that although CyberEdDriverEd.com is sufficient for fulfilling driver education requirements in some states, in other states CyberEdDriverEd.com is only offered as a supplement to the driver education and/or training you will receive at a state-approved driving school. To find out if CyberEdDriverEd.com will meet your state's minimum driver education requirements, we recommend that you check with the Kentucky Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV).