We have everything you need to earn your
Our online driver education courses are fun, interactive, and convenient. Upon completion
of our permit course, you can begin driving with an instructor.
Other course features:
So you've taken your first step towards becoming a new driver in Massachusetts? Congratulations!
As you probably already know, driving is a valuable skill, but can also be extremely dangerous. Therefore, to help new teen drivers develop safe driving habits during their first few years behind the wheel, the State of Massachusetts has implemented a graduated driver license program for Iowa drivers who are under the age of 18.
We’ve summarized a few things you’ll need to know as you begin the process of becoming a licensed driver in Massachusetts.
You need to be at least 16 years old in order to apply for an instruction permit in Massachusetts. When you go to get your instruction permit, you will need to take the following items with you to the local Mass. RMV office:
You will need to pass a vision screening test and then a written test (covering material from the Mass. Driver's Manual).
After you receive your instruction permit (which is valid for 2 years), you may begin to practice driving, however, there are some restrictions:
In order to be eligible to apply for a junior operator license, you must meet the following prerequisites:
When you are ready, then head back down to the local Mass. RMV office with your instruction permit and the same ID forms you took with you the last time. You will need to pass a road test and then you'll be issed a Massachusetts Junior Operator's license.
With a junior operator's license, some restrictions still apply:
State law requires that you have at least a certain amount of auto insurance/liability coverage on any vehicle you drive. The minimum amount of liability coverage required in Massachusetts is as follows:
Driving without auto insurance coverage is a crime. If you are found to be driving while uninsured, you risk losing your license and paying a hefty fine.
If you drive drunk in Massachusetts--assuming you're not killed in an accident--you will face very severe consequences.
Upon your FIRST conviction of a Mass. DUI, this is what you will face:
Further DUI violations will result in even more severe penalties, including extended jail time, fines, community service, and the revocation of your driver's license.
Currently, there are no laws regulating the use of cell phones or text-messaging devices while driving. However, this does not mean it's safe to use them! Please wait until you reach your destination before reading or sending a text-message. If you can't wait, please find a safe place to park your car first.
Masschusetts requires teen-aged drivers to enroll in a state-approved drivers education course which includes:
For a list of approved drivers education courses in Massachusetts, please visit the Mass. RMV website.
In most states, you must be at least 15 1/2 to take drivers ed for your learners permit. You should check with your state's Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) (or whichever state agency handles the issuance of drivers licenses in Massachusetts) to make sure that you are eligible to take Massachusetts driver education.
Please be aware that although CyberEdDriverEd.com is sufficient for fulfilling driver education requirements in some states, in other states CyberEdDriverEd.com is only offered as a supplement to the driver education and/or training you will receive at a state-approved driving school. To find out if CyberEdDriverEd.com will meet your state's minimum driver education requirements, we recommend that you check with the Massachusetts Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV).