We have everything you need to earn your
Our online driver education courses are fun, interactive, and convenient. Upon completion
of our permit course, you can begin driving with an instructor.
Other course features:
So you've taken your first step towards becoming a new driver in Oklahoma? Congratulations!
As you probably already know, driving is a valuable skill, but can also be extremely dangerous. Therefore, to help new teen drivers develop safe driving habits during their first few years behind the wheel, the State of Oklahoma has implemented a graduated driver license program for Oklahoma drivers who are under the age of 18.
We’ve summarized a few things you’ll need to know as you begin the process of becoming a licensed driver in Oklahoma.
When you turn 15 in Oklahoma, you may begin to practice driving (you don't even need a permit or license!). However, you may only drive you must have a certified driving instructor actively supervising your driving from the front passenger seat when you drive (your parent/guardian may be the supervisor if they are a licensed driver).
When you are 15 years and 6 months old, you may apply for your instruction permit so long as you are enrolled in a state-approved drivers education course. If you do not wish to take a drivers ed course, you will have to wait until your 16th birthday to apply for your instruction permit.
When you're ready to get your instruction permit, go down to your local driver's license office with the required forms of identification (please visit the Oklahoma Dept. of Public Safety [DPS] website for a list of acceptable ID documents)
At the driver's license office, you will first take a vision screening test, and if that goes okay, you will then need to pass a written test which includes material covered in the Oklahoma Driver's Manual before you'll be issued an instruction permit.
With an instruction permit, the following restrictions apply:
You can apply for your intermediate drivers license if you meet the following requirements:
You will need to pass a road test at the driver's license office in order to get your intermediate license. With an intermediate license, some restrictions still apply:
When you turn 18 or have had your intermediate license for at least 6 months, you may apply for your full, unrestricted license.
State law requires that you have at least a certain amount of auto insurance/liability coverage on any vehicle you drive. The minimum amount of liability coverage required in Oklahoma is as follows:
Driving without the required amount of auto insurance is a crime. If you are found to be driving while uninsured, you risk losing your license and paying a hefty fine.
Drinking while under the influence of alcohol is strictly prohibited in Oklahoma, and the law is strictly enforced.
Upon your FIRST Oklahoma DUI conviction, you will face the following penalties:
Further DUI convictions will result in even more severe penalties, including extended jail time, fines, and the revocation of your driver's license.
There are currently no laws in Oklahoma banning the use of cell phones while driving. However, that does not mean they're safe to use while driving!
For information on drivers ed requirements and a list of approved drivers ed courses available in Oklahoma, please visit the Oklahoma DPS website.
You’re free to go to the Oklahoma licensing office and take the test for the Oklahoma learners permit as soon as you receive your Oklahoma CyberEdDriverEd.com driver education certificate of completion. Depending on where you live, you may be required to provide additional documentation, such as parental consent forms, medical records, your birth certificate, etc.
We strongly recommend that you contact your local Oklahoma driver's license office to find out exactly what paperwork is needed when you go in to take your Oklahoma learner's permit test.