We have everything you need to earn your
Our online driver education courses are fun, interactive, and convenient. Upon completion
of our permit course, you can begin driving with an instructor.
Other course features:
So you’ve taken your first step to become a new driver in Hawaii? Congratulations!
As you probably already know, driving is a valuable skill to know but it can also be extremely dangerous. Therefore, to help new teen drivers develop safe driving habits during their first few years behind the wheel, the State of Hawaii has implemented a graduated driver license program for Hawaii drivers who are between the ages of 15-18.
We’ve summarized a few things you’ll need to know as you go begin your process of becoming a licensed driver in Hawaii.
You need to be at least 15 years, 6 months old to be eligible to obtain an instruction permit in Hawaii.
When you are ready to take your written driver’s test, you will need to take the following items with you to the Hawaii DOT office (driver’s license office):
Once you have your Hawaii instruction permit, you may begin to practice driving, however you must always have a licensed driver who’s at least 21 years old sitting next to you in the front passenger seat.
After you've had your Hawaii learner's permit for 6 months, you'll be able to apply for an Hawaii intermediate license if you meet the following prerequisites:
When you go to the DOT office to get your license, you need to take your instruction permit along with the same paperwork/documents that you brought when you took your instruction permit test. You will need to pass the road test this time, and then you will have earned your intermediate driver’s license.
With an intermediate license, the following restrictions still apply:
Please adhere to these restrictions! Your license will be suspended for 3 months upon your first violation and repeat violations will result in 6-month suspensions.
Your intermediate driver’s license will convert to a full driver’s license when you turn 17 provided that you have not had any traffic violations within the last six (6) months. There may still be some restrictions until you turn 18, however. Please contact the Hawaii DOT for more information.
The State of Hawaii requires that you have auto insurance coverage on any vehicle you drive. [Why? Suppose you’re in an accident and it’s the other driver’s fault and you incurred thousands of dollars in damages to your vehicle. But the at-fault driver doesn’t have insurance and has no way of paying for the damage done to your vehicle. Who would have to pay for the repairs to your car? That’s right, you!]. If you drive without insurance you risk having your license suspended plus a hefty fine.
The minimum amount of coverage you are required to carry is as follows:
Drinking and driving is a deadly mix. Upon your FIRST conviction of a Hawaii DUI, you will face the following penalties:
Subsequent DUI violations will result in far stiffer penalties, including extended jail time, and the revocation of your Hawaii drivers license.
There are currently no statewide laws regulating the use of cell phones & text-messaging in Hawaii, However, Oahu passed a law in 2009 which prohibits text-messaging while driving and the use of hand-held cell phones while driving (except those with hands-free devices).
Anyone applying for an Hawaii intermediate license must successfully complete a state-approved drivers education course. You can visit the Hawaii DOT website for a list of approved drivers ed courses.
In most states, you must be at least 15 1/2 to take drivers ed for your learners permit. You should check with your state's Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) (or whichever state agency handles the issuance of drivers licenses in Hawaii) to make sure that you are eligible to take Hawaii driver education.
Please be aware that although CyberEdDriverEd.com is sufficient for fulfilling driver education requirements in some states, in other states CyberEdDriverEd.com is only offered as a supplement to the driver education and/or training you will receive at a state-approved driving school. To find out if CyberEdDriverEd.com will meet your state's minimum driver education requirements, we recommend that you check with the Hawaii Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV).