We have everything you need to earn your
Our online driver education courses are fun, interactive, and convenient. Upon completion
of our permit course, you can begin driving with an instructor.
Other course features:
So you’ve taken your first step to become a new driver in Arizona? Congratulations! As you probably already know, driving is a valuable skill to know but it can also be extremely dangerous. Therefore, to help new teen drivers develop safe driving habits during their first few years behind the wheel, the State of Arizona has implemented a graduated driver license program for Arizona drivers who are between the ages of 15-18.
We’ve summarized a few things you’ll need to know as you go begin your process of becoming a licensed driver in Arizona.
Selective Service System Registration (MALE DRIVERS ONLY)--If you apply for any type of drivers license or permit in Arizona, your name will automatically be registered with the U.S. Selective Service System, the agency that would oversee the military draft should Congress reactivate it (there has not been a active draft in the U.S. since 1973).
If you are at least 15 years, 6 months old, you may apply for a graduated instruction permit in Arizona.
Be sure to take the following with you to the drivers license office when you go to take your written test:
For a complete listing of required documents, please visit the Arizona DMV website.
To get your instruction permit, you will need to pass both a written test and a vision test.
With a graduated instruction permit, you must have a licensed driver who’s at least 21 years old sitting in the front passenger seat whenever you drive.
If you are at least 16 years old you may apply for a graduated driver license provided you meet the following requirements:
When you go to take your drivers test (yes, a road test is included this time), be sure to bring your graduated instruction permit plus $25.00 with you to the drivers license office.
For the first six (6) months after you receive your graduated driver license, Some restrictions will still be in place:
You must carry auto insurance coverage on any car you drive and must carry proof of insurance whenever you drive. The minimum amount of coverage you are required to have is as follows:
Driving while impaired because of alcohol is a serious crime which carries serious penalties. Upon your FIRST (1st) conviction of driving drunk in Arizona, you will face:
If you are under 21, and there is so much as a trace of alcohol which impairs your ability to drive safely, your license will most likely be taken away for two (2) years.
As of March 2010, several bills which would prohibit or severely limit the use of cell phone and sending and reading text messages while driving are being considered by the Arizona Legislature.
All 16-year-old applicants who would like to apply for an Arizona driver license must have completed at least 40 hours of driving practice (signed by a parent, legal guardian, or certified driving instructor), or have successfully completed a state-approved Arizona online driver education course. Please check with your local Arizona DMV regarding state-approved driver education classes.