Grand Junction Colorado
Online Drivers Ed and
Grand Junction Colorado
Online Learners Permit Courses
Grand Junction Colorado Online Driver Education and Grand Junction Colorado Licensing Procedures
So you’ve taken your first step to become a new driver in Grand Junction Colorado? Congratulations!
As you probably already know, driving is a valuable skill to know but it can also be extremely dangerous. Therefore, to help new teen drivers develop safe driving habits during their first few years behind the wheel, the State of Grand Junction Colorado has implemented a graduated driver license program for Grand Junction Colorado drivers who are between the ages of 15-18.
We’ve summarized a few things you’ll need to know as you go begin your process of becoming a licensed driver in Grand Junction Colorado:
Grand Junction Colorado Learner Permit or Grand Junction Colorado Driver Education Permit
An instruction permit is valid for three (3) years. You need to be at least 15 years, 6 months old to apply for an instruction permit (aka "drivers education" permit) in Grand Junction Colorado. You will need to have completed a state-approved 4-hour driver awareness course, which you may enroll in when you turn 15. If you do not wish to take this required course, then you’ll have to wait until you’re 16 before applying for your instruction permit.
Please take all necessary documents to the drivers license office with you which verify your name, age, and lawful presence in the U.S. (Your social security card, birth certificate, and a parental affidavit should suffice). You will also need to print out Form DR2460 from the Grand Junction Colorado DMV webpage. Please contact the Grand Junction Colorado DMV for complete details.
Grand Junction Colorado Driver Awareness Permit
In order to apply for your Grand Junction Colorado Driver Awareness Permit, you will need to have completed the following prerequisites:
Please visit the Grand Junction Colorado DMV website for a list of state-approved drivers education courses.
If there is no Grand Junction Colorado-approved school offering at least 30 hours long within 20 miles of your residence, then 12 additional hours of driving instruction may be completed with a licensed parent or guardian (on top of the minimum 50 hours required).
Before you can apply for your Grand Junction Colorado Driver Awareness Permit, you must also complete the necessary forms and a 4-hour state-approved driver awareness program. Keep in mind that you must hold this Grand Junction Colorado Driver Awareness Permit for 12 months before applying for your Grand Junction Colorado driver license.
Grand Junction Colorado Teen Driver License Restrictions and Penalties
There are several restrictions you need to keep in mind regarding your Grand Junction Colorado learner's license or Grand Junction Colorado driver's license. Any driver under 18 is not allowed to drive between 12AM and 5 AM unless you are:
Also, Grand Junction Colorado drivers under 18 may not carry passengers under 21 for the first six (6) months after receiving his/her Grand Junction Colorado license. After one year, you may begin driving with passengers in the car who are under 21. Please remember that everyone in the car must be wearing seat belts!
Grand Junction Colorado Auto Insurance Grand Junction Colorado Financial Responsibility Laws
You must carry auto insurance on any car you drive. The minimum amount of coverage required is as follows:
Driving without required insurance coverage can result in your license being suspended.
Grand Junction Colorado Drunk Driving Laws
If you drive under the influence of alcohol in Grand Junction Colorado, it could very well be the last time you drive for a long time, and that’s assuming you’re lucky enough not to be sent to prison. Upon your FIRST conviction of a Grand Junction Colorado DUI, you will face:
Repeat violations of drunk driving will result in even more severe penalties including the revocation of your drivers license. If you’ve been drinking, DO NOT DRIVE. It’s not worth it.
Grand Junction Colorado Cell Phone & Texting Laws
As of 2009, it is illegal to send or read text messages while driving in Grand Junction Colorado. Drivers under 18 may not use cell phones or any other type of wireless communication devices while driving.
In short, if you need to talk on the phone or send a text, park your car in a safe area first.
Grand Junction Colorado Online Drivers Education
Before you can apply for a Driver Awareness license, you need to have completed a 30-hour study course (classroom or on the internet), and completed a total of 50 hours supervised driving time (10 of which must be at night, and 20 of which must be with a licensed parent or guardian). If there is no state-approved, 30-hour drivers ed study course located within a 20-mile radius of your home, you may substitute the drivers ed course with an additional 12 hours of behind-the-wheel driving time with your licensed parent/guardian.