Mauldin South Carolina
Online Drivers Ed and
Mauldin South Carolina
Online Learners Permit Courses
Mauldin South Carolina Online Driver Education and Mauldin South Carolina Licensing Procedures
So you've taken your first step towards becoming a new driver in Mauldin South Carolina? Congratulations!
As you probably already know, driving is a valuable skill, but can also be extremely dangerous. Therefore, to help new teen drivers develop safe driving habits during their first few years behind the wheel, the State of Mauldin South Carolina has implemented a graduated driver license program for Mauldin South Carolina drivers who are under the age of 18.
We’ve summarized a few things you’ll need to know as you begin the process of becoming a licensed driver in Mauldin South Carolina.
Mauldin South Carolina Beginner's Permit (aka--Learners Permit)
You can apply for a beginner permit after you turn 15.
Please take the following paperwork to the local driver's license office with you:
At the driver's license office, you will be given a vision screening exam, and then a written test. If you pass it, you will be issued a beginner permit to drive.
Mauldin South Carolina Junior Driver License
After you have held your beginner permit for 180 days with a clean driving record, you may apply for your junior license provided you have met the following requirements:
When you're ready to upgrade to a junior license, head back down to your local driver's license office with your beginner permit and the same documents you took with you the last time. You will need to pass a road test before being issued a junior license.
With a junior license, some restrictions still apply:
Please visit the Mauldin South Carolina DMV website for information regarding Special Restricted Licenses.
After you turn 17, and have held your junior license for at least 180 days with no traffic violations or at-fault accidents, you may apply for your regular driver's license.
Mauldin South Carolina Auto Insurance & Financial Responsibility Laws
State law requires that you have at least a certain amount of auto insurance/liability coverage on any vehicle you drive. The minimum amount of liability coverage required in Mauldin South Carolina is as follows:
Driving without the required amount of auto insurance is a crime. If you are found to be driving while uninsured, you risk losing your license and paying a hefty fine.
Mauldin South Carolina Drunk Driving Laws
Drinking while under the influence of alcohol is strictly prohibited in Mauldin South Carolina, and the law is strictly enforced.
Upon your FIRST Mauldin South Carolina DUI conviction, you will face the following penalties:
Further DUI convictions will result in even more severe penalties, including extended jail time, fines, community service, and the revocation of your driver's license.
Mauldin South Carolina Cell Phone & Text-Messaging Laws
Mauldin South Carolina currently has no laws prohibiting the use of cell phones while driving. However, that does not mean it's safe to use them while driving! If you cannot wait until you get to your destination to talk to or text somebody, please find a safe place to park and then talk & text all you want.
Mauldin South Carolina Drivers Education
For more information on approved drivers education courses available to teen-age drivers in Mauldin South Carolina, please visit the state's DMV website.