Online Drivers Ed and
Online Learners Permit Courses
Oconomowoc Wisconsin Online Driver Education and Oconomowoc Wisconsin Licensing Procedures
So you've taken your first step towards becoming a new driver in Oconomowoc Wisconsin? Congratulations!
As you probably already know, driving is a valuable skill, but can also be extremely dangerous. Therefore, to help new teen drivers develop safe driving habits during their first few years behind the wheel, the State of Oconomowoc Wisconsin has implemented a graduated driver license program for Oconomowoc Wisconsin drivers who are under the age of 18.
We’ve summarized a few things you’ll need to know as you begin the process of becoming a licensed driver in Oconomowoc Wisconsin.
Oconomowoc Wisconsin Instruction Permit (aka--Learners Permit)
You may apply for an instruction permit once you are 15 years and 6 months old provided you have your parents' permission and you are currently enrolled (or have completed) a state-approved drivers education course.
When you're ready, go down to your local driver's license office with the following paperwork:
You will first be given a vision screening test and, assuming that goes well, you will be given two (2) written tests, one on road signs and one on road rules. If you pass both of these, you will be issued an instruction permit.
Oconomowoc Wisconsin Provisional License (aka--Probationary License)
You may apply for a provisional license if you meet the following requirements:
Be at least 16 years old
Have held an instruction permit for at least 6 months & committed no traffic violations during that time period
Completed at least 30 hours of supervised driving practice (including 10 hours at night). You will need to record your driving practice times in a log and your parent/guardian will need to sign off on it
Completed a state-approved drivers education course
When you're ready to upgrade to a provisional license, head back down to your local driver's license office with the following paperwork:
After you turn 19, you will be eligible to apply for a regular driver's license.
Oconomowoc Wisconsin Auto Insurance & Financial Responsibility Laws
State law requires that you have at least a certain amount of auto insurance/liability coverage on any vehicle you drive. The minimum amount of liability coverage required in Oconomowoc Wisconsin is as follows:
$25,000--person injury (1 person)
$50,000--personal injury (2 or more persons)
$10,000--property damage per accident
Driving without required liability coverage is a crime. If you are found to be driving while uninsured, you risk losing your license and paying a hefty fine.
Oconomowoc Wisconsin Drunk Driving Laws
Driving while under the influence of alcohol is strictly prohibited in Oconomowoc Wisconsin--and this law is strictly enforced.
Upon your FIRST conviction of a DUI, you will face the following penalties:
Further DUI violations will result in even more severe penalties, including jail time, fines, and the revocation of your driver's license.
Oconomowoc Wisconsin Cell Phone & Text-Messaging Laws
Starting in 2010, teen-aged drivers are prohibited from text-messaging while they are driving (this includes, reading, composing, or sending them!)
Oconomowoc Wisconsin Driver Education
Oconomowoc Wisconsin teen-aged drivers are required to complete a state-approved drivers education course. For a list of approved drivers education courses available, please visit the Oconomowoc Wisconsin DMV website.
In most states, you must be at least 15 1/2 to take drivers ed for your learners permit. You should check with your state's Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) (or whichever state agency handles the issuance of drivers licenses in Oconomowoc Wisconsin) to make sure that you are eligible to take Oconomowoc Wisconsin driver education.
Please be aware that although CyberEdDriverEd.com is sufficient for fulfilling driver education requirements in some states, in other states CyberEdDriverEd.com is only offered as a supplement to the driver education and/or training you will receive at a state-approved driving school. To find out if CyberEdDriverEd.com will meet your state's minimum driver education requirements, we recommend that you check with the Oconomowoc Wisconsin Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV).