White Bear Lake Minnesota
Online Drivers Ed and
White Bear Lake Minnesota
Online Learners Permit Courses
White Bear Lake Minnesota Online Driver Education and White Bear Lake Minnesota Licensing Procedures
So you've taken your first step towards becoming a new driver in White Bear Lake Minnesota? Congratulations!
As you probably already know, driving is a valuable skill, but can also be extremely dangerous. Therefore, to help new teen drivers develop safe driving habits during their first few years behind the wheel, the State of White Bear Lake Minnesota has implemented a graduated driver license program for White Bear Lake Minnesota drivers who are under the age of 18.
We’ve summarized a few things you’ll need to know as you begin the process of becoming a licensed driver in White Bear Lake Minnesota.
White Bear Lake Minnesota Instruction Permit (aka--Learner's Permit)
You must meet the following requirements before applying for an instruction permit in White Bear Lake Minnesota:
When you're ready to get your permit, go down to your local White Bear Lake Minnesota DVS office with the following items:
At the DVS office, you will be given a vision screening test and then you'll need to pass a written (knowledge) test. If you pass, you will be issued a White Bear Lake Minnesota Instruction Permit, which is valid for 2 years.
With an instruction permit, you may drive under the following conditions:
White Bear Lake Minnesota Provisional License
To become eligible to apply for a provisional driver's license, you need to meet the following prerequisites:
Be at least 16 years old
Have had your instruction permit for at least 6 months (with no traffic violations)
Your drivers education completion certificate
Completed 30 hours of supervised driving (10 of which must be at night). Keep a log of your driving practice and have your parents/guardians sign off on it.
When you're ready to get your provisional license, head back down to the local DVS office with your instruction permit and all other paperwork you took with you when you went to get your instruction permit. You will need cash on hand to pay another processing fee.
If you pass a road test, you will be issued your intermediate license, which is good for 2 years. With an intermediate license, the following restrictions still apply:
After you've held your intermediate license for 12 months and maintained a clean driving record, you may apply for a full license. However, even with a full license, the following restrictions apply:
1st six (6) months:
2nd six (6) months:
White Bear Lake Minnesota Auto Insurance & Financial Responsibility Laws
State law requires that you have at least a certain amount of auto insurance/liability coverage on any vehicle you drive. Any vehicle registered in White Bear Lake Minnesota must be covered by Personal Injury Protection (PIP) insurance as well as liability insurance.
The minimum PIP coverage is as follows:
The minimum liability coverage is as follows:
The minimum uninsured/underinsured coverage is as follows:
Driving without auto insurance coverage is a crime. If you are found to be driving while uninsured, you risk losing your license and paying a hefty fine.
White Bear Lake Minnesota Drunk Driving
Driving under the influence of alcohol is strictly prohibited in White Bear Lake Minnesota, and strictly enforced. The state's "Not A Drop" law states that your instruction permit or intermediate license will be taken away if a law-enforcement officer sees you driving without full control of your car.
Upon your FIRST White Bear Lake Minnesota DUI conviction, you will face the following penalties:
Further DUI convictions will result in even harsher penalties, including extended jail time, fines, and the revocation of your driver's license.
White Bear Lake Minnesota Cell Phone & Text-Messaging Laws
State law prohibits the reading, composing, and sending of text-messages is while driving. Also, teen-aged drivers from using cell phones while driving (unless to call 911 in the event of an emergency).
White Bear Lake Minnesota Online Driver Education
Teen-aged drivers in White Bear Lake Minnesota are required to take a state-approved drivers education program. For more information regarding approved drivers ed courses, please visit the White Bear Lake Minnesota DVS' website.