Online Drivers Ed and
Online Learners Permit Courses
Hastings Minnesota Online Driver Education and Hastings Minnesota Licensing Procedures
So you've taken your first step towards becoming a new driver in Hastings Minnesota? Congratulations!
As you probably already know, driving is a valuable skill, but can also be extremely dangerous. Therefore, to help new teen drivers develop safe driving habits during their first few years behind the wheel, the State of Hastings Minnesota has implemented a graduated driver license program for Hastings Minnesota drivers who are under the age of 18.
We’ve summarized a few things you’ll need to know as you begin the process of becoming a licensed driver in Hastings Minnesota.
Hastings Minnesota Instruction Permit (aka--Learner's Permit)
You must meet the following requirements before applying for an instruction permit in Hastings Minnesota:
When you're ready to get your permit, go down to your local Hastings Minnesota DVS office with the following items:
At the DVS office, you will be given a vision screening test and then you'll need to pass a written (knowledge) test. If you pass, you will be issued a Hastings Minnesota Instruction Permit, which is valid for 2 years.
With an instruction permit, you may drive under the following conditions:
Hastings Minnesota Provisional License
To become eligible to apply for a provisional driver's license, you need to meet the following prerequisites:
Be at least 16 years old
Have had your instruction permit for at least 6 months (with no traffic violations)
Your drivers education completion certificate
Completed 30 hours of supervised driving (10 of which must be at night). Keep a log of your driving practice and have your parents/guardians sign off on it.
When you're ready to get your provisional license, head back down to the local DVS office with your instruction permit and all other paperwork you took with you when you went to get your instruction permit. You will need cash on hand to pay another processing fee.
If you pass a road test, you will be issued your intermediate license, which is good for 2 years. With an intermediate license, the following restrictions still apply:
After you've held your intermediate license for 12 months and maintained a clean driving record, you may apply for a full license. However, even with a full license, the following restrictions apply:
1st six (6) months:
2nd six (6) months:
Hastings Minnesota Auto Insurance & Financial Responsibility Laws
State law requires that you have at least a certain amount of auto insurance/liability coverage on any vehicle you drive. Any vehicle registered in Hastings Minnesota must be covered by Personal Injury Protection (PIP) insurance as well as liability insurance.
The minimum PIP coverage is as follows:
The minimum liability coverage is as follows:
The minimum uninsured/underinsured coverage is as follows:
Driving without auto insurance coverage is a crime. If you are found to be driving while uninsured, you risk losing your license and paying a hefty fine.
Hastings Minnesota Drunk Driving
Driving under the influence of alcohol is strictly prohibited in Hastings Minnesota, and strictly enforced. The state's "Not A Drop" law states that your instruction permit or intermediate license will be taken away if a law-enforcement officer sees you driving without full control of your car.
Upon your FIRST Hastings Minnesota DUI conviction, you will face the following penalties:
Further DUI convictions will result in even harsher penalties, including extended jail time, fines, and the revocation of your driver's license.
Hastings Minnesota Cell Phone & Text-Messaging Laws
State law prohibits the reading, composing, and sending of text-messages is while driving. Also, teen-aged drivers from using cell phones while driving (unless to call 911 in the event of an emergency).
Hastings Minnesota Online Driver Education
Teen-aged drivers in Hastings Minnesota are required to take a state-approved drivers education program. For more information regarding approved drivers ed courses, please visit the Hastings Minnesota DVS' website.
In most states, you must be at least 15 1/2 to take drivers ed for your learners permit. You should check with your state's Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) (or whichever state agency handles the issuance of drivers licenses in Hastings Minnesota) to make sure that you are eligible to take Hastings Minnesota driver education.
Please be aware that although CyberEdDriverEd.com is sufficient for fulfilling driver education requirements in some states, in other states CyberEdDriverEd.com is only offered as a supplement to the driver education and/or training you will receive at a state-approved driving school. To find out if CyberEdDriverEd.com will meet your state's minimum driver education requirements, we recommend that you check with the Hastings Minnesota Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV).
The Hastings Minnesota online driver ed course offered by CyberEdDriverEd.com is about 30 hours long. However, in some states where timers are not required you may not have to spend an entire 30 hours taking the course.
Please be aware that while in some states CyberEdDriverEd.com will be sufficient for fulfilling your state's driver education requirements, in other states CyberEdDriverEd.com is offered only as a supplement to the actual driver education and/or training you will receive at a state-approved driving school. To find out if CyberEdDriverEd.com will meet your state's minimum driver education requirements, please contact your local DMV office.